The Complete

The Complete "Jazz Information" Recordings

by Bunk Johnson


$13.89 $15.99 Save 13% Current price is $13.89, Original price is $15.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 29


Bunk Johnson was discovered living near New Orleans in 1940, without a trumpet and needing new teeth. By 1942 he had both and, through constant practicing, had regained his old form. Not counting a few talking and solo records, he first recorded on June 11, 1942. The music on this CD comes from his next session. Johnson utilized a band of local New Orleans players, of whom clarinetist George Lewis was destined for fame. There are spots where the ensembles slip slightly out of tune, but in general this is a well-played date, particularly "Big Chief Battle Axe," "Franklin Street Blues," and "Sobbin' Blues." Due to the inclusion of three alternate takes, this is the complete session, one of many easily recommended Bunk Johnson CDs reissued by the American Music label.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/22/2005
Label: American Music Rec.
UPC: 0762247111924
catalogNumber: 119
Rank: 115248


  1. Big Chief Battle Axe
  2. Big Chief Battle Axe
  3. Dusty Rag
  4. Franklin Street Blues
  5. Franklin Street Blues
  6. Thriller Rag
  7. Sobbin' Blues
  8. Sobbin' Blues
  9. When I Leave the World Behind
  10. Sometimes My Burden Is So Hard to Bear
  11. Blue Bells Goodbye
  12. Shine
  13. Yaaka Hula Hickey Dula
  14. Weary Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews