The Complete Light Poems

The Complete Light Poems

by Jackson Mac Low


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Poetry. Edited by Anne Tardos and Michael O'Driscoll. The sixty poems in this collection were written over an extended stretch of the poet's life, beginning on June 10, 1962 and concluding on October 9, 1988, more than twenty-six years later. The poems, then, were begun by Mac Low aged 39 and completed or, perhaps, left off, when he was 66 years old. As the work of an accomplished artist at mid life, the poems express a certain self- confidence and maturity at the same time as they are all too vulnerable in their frank recognition of the frailties of self and love. THE COMPLETE LIGHT POEMS are often very moving. For that reason, and given their intensely biographical nature, the poems afford the reader an unusually prolonged and intimate sense of the poet's daily life.

"I have often wondered where self-referential writing ends and objective observation begins. Endearingly, Mac Low continually invites us into the time and place of his writing. We are, as it were, being let in from the cold: 'Just me & the cats & and the plants I just took a shower it's not quite 100 degrees here.'"—Anne Tardos

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780986264009
Publisher: Chax Press
Publication date: 01/31/2015
Pages: 338
Sales rank: 830,995
Product dimensions: 7.00(w) x 9.80(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Jackson Mac Low (1922-2004) made poems, essays, and musical, performance, visual, and radio works. Author of about 30 books and published in over 90 collections, his works have been published, exhibited, and performed (often by his wife, the poet, visual artist, and composer Anne Tardos and himself) in many countries. Awards: Guggenheim, NEA, NYFA, and CAPS fellowships and the 1999 Wallace Stevens Award of the Academy of American Poets. Recent books: DOINGS: ASSORTED PERFORMANCE PIECES 1955-2002 (Granary Books, 2003), Thing of Beauty: New and Selected Works (University of California Press, 2008), and 154 FORTIES (Counterpath Press, 2012).

Customer Reviews