The Core

The Core

by Kate Thomas

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Equilibrium: The Light. The Darkness. The Future. The Past. The Core.

One of the most unique paranormal stories available. It's like nothing you have ever read before.


He had blood on his hands when I walked in that day. Though it should have drove me far from wanting anything to do with my illustrious boss, instead, it forced me to look closer.

Too close.

It started as a simply infatuation. Dark hair, deep green eyes and a dominance about him that left everyone paying attention, but that was only the beginning. Things got off track the moment I let myself look beyond what I could truly see and explain.

Thus began the unfolding of Equilibrium.

I have no clue what part I will play in the powerful structure set up to maintain the balance between good and evil. All I know is that the epicenter of all power has passed away and someone must take his place.


I can only hope that it's not me. I'm not prepared for such a journey, nor will I ever be. I don't even believe in good and evil. But somehow the truth remains... I have no choice in what's to come. None of us do.

The Core is missing and the position will not go unfilled.


The Invitation: Join us from the beginning of this journey and emerge yourself in the alternative reality that Kate Thomas has created. Let the here and now subtly fade away as you discover something new, and perhaps even find yourself changed by the authentic human experience presented in this fantastic magic adventure.

Not everything is quite what it seems... But you knew that already.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940157300180
Publisher: BrixBaxter Publishing
Publication date: 02/10/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 102,533
File size: 490 KB

About the Author

She is a full time writer, a church planter and entrepreneur at heart; however, writing and reading are passions she just can't help but indulge in. With more ideas than one person should be allowed, she is blessed to have a muse that doesn't seem to take a vacation and more energy that one might consider healthy.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Core 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Lila-Rae More than 1 year ago
Ellie works as an Accountant for her Elusive and strange boss David , but when she tries to get closer to him , she ends up seeing more than what she should have . Who is David Really ? and why did he hire Ellie for his firm ? This is usually not my typical genre , I tend to go for romance and paranormal with Darker elements and a much more steamier storyline , if you will. Don't get me wrong , this was a very interesting storyline , it kept me reading .I would definitely recommend it to Fantasy & Sci-fi readers who like YA & NA with suspense , action , mystery and intrigue.... not much really in the romance dept. The author made sure to keep you hooked with good mysterious characters and loads of unanswered secrets .It made me frustrated at points , where you think you knew what was happening , but you will learn everything at an agonizing pace , like Ellie in time as the story goes on. Another thing I wish was different was that Ellie needed to be stronger .She was a bit Ditzy , it made me insane and then just as she's learning things ...Poof , Cliffhanger ending !
Buukwuurm More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a book to read that is both entertaining and engaging, this is it. It has a very unique and interesting take on the age old power struggle between good and evil. I am intrigued by the premise and can't wait to read the second book in the series to learn more about all the characters in this story. I only gave it 4 stars because I felt like the beginning of The Core kind of jumped into the story and it took me a few pages to figure out what was going on, but I caught on quickly and truly enjoyed it. **I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This first book of the Equilibrium series should come with a warning. It begins an addiction that will cause you to need the rest of the series in short order. At times I found it too heavy to read straight through, but I had to keep coming back. Definitely not your typical romance story. I don't even mind that I had to buy it in pieces.
Ann04 More than 1 year ago
A great story. This is a different paranormal story than any I have ever read before. The characters quickly drew me in. I can't wait to read more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A nice different take...I can't wait to see what happens next, however . ...I know one thing I want to see is David and Kate together. For the reader who kept saying Jacob in place of David, remember Jacob is her twin brother
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Ellie is very attracted to David but something isn’t right, so Ellie decides to try to find out the truth. She finds out more than she bargained for. I enjoyed this book. Everything that Ellie had to deal with as her search progresses is really awesome. I love the story and plot. Characters were awesome I highly recommend. **I received an ARC of this story in exchange for an honest review
2kasmom More than 1 year ago
Jacob is Ellie's boss. She thinks he may have committed a crime. She and her brother decide to stake out her boss and follow him. Jacob catches them and surprises her. Ellie loves working for Jacob. He took a chance on her and hired her straight out of college. Lately she has noticed she is starting to have feelings for him. She is not sure how to approach this with her work-all-the-time boss. Jacob has many secrets he is not sure if he should share with her. She is supposed to be a part of a future partnership with him. How to tell her? Will she believe? Can he go forward in a different relationship with her if she turns him down? So much going on in this book. I do not want to give spoiler so I will just summarize for you that it is an amazing read!! I had trouble putting it down. Ellie and Jacob have sexy banter and sizzling kisses that make reading worthwhile! This is the first book in the Equilibrium series. The 2nd book is out now, The Light. I cannot wait to continue the next story!!
jeanniezelos More than 1 year ago
The Core, Equilibrium I, Kate Thomas Genre: Fantasy/Paranormal , New Adult. Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews This sounded an interesting read – and it was. Its something new in the fantasy/paranormal genre, well at least to me. Its about people with special abilities who are chosen to keep the balance in the world, the mix of good and bad. I liked the connection between Ellie and David, and his enigmatic way of speaking. Its as if everything he says as an answer is really another question. No wonder poor Ellie was so confused. There are so many secrets, and he takes her on a journey of discovery where she meets others, and needs to make a choice – is there really a way to say no though? It’s a shortish read and hard to rate I feel, as its really just an intro into what’s coming, a taster of what could develop. We can see already that her background may not be as she’s always thought, and I wonder how she will explain this to her brother and mum, whether they will have any part to play or remain “normal” people? I want to read more – its certainly whetted my appetite, and though David suggests there can be nothing between him and Ellie on a personal level, that its purely professional from now, there’s a definite attraction for both of them and I wonder how that’s going to work out with them needing to work closely together. It promises to be a fun read, something different from the usual and though its not classes as a romance I can’t help hoping one develops! Stars: Four – I think its going to develop into a five star series but at the moment Its still a clear work in progress and this novel felt a bit incomplete to me. Started books do have a hard job when a series begins. ARC provided by Netgalley and publishers.