The Courtship of Jo March: a variation of Louisa May Alcott's Little Women

The Courtship of Jo March: a variation of Louisa May Alcott's Little Women

by Trix Wilkins

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.95
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Courtship of Jo March: a variation of Louisa May Alcott's Little Women by Trix Wilkins

If only she had survived, and he had returned...

It’s the classic story of four sisters we’ve come to love, and yet we can’t help but wonder. Why did Jo refuse Laurie? What might Laurie have done on the European Grand Tour? What became of Jo’s writing, Amy’s art, Laurie’s music? Would a school have existed without Aunt March? And could Beth possibly have been saved?

This re-imagining of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women is for all who have ever wondered how things might have worked out differently for the beloved March sisters – the life Beth might have led, the books Jo might have written, the friends they might have made, and the courtship that might have been.

A strongly flowing and ultimately satisfying narrative…Alcott fans would enjoy The Courtship of Jo March immensely. Stephanie Jane, Literary Flits

Delightful…This book is for fans of Jo and Laurie, and it delivers in that department beautifully. Andrea Lundgren, Into the Writer Lea

TRIX WILKINS has always longed for an Austenesque ending to Little Women. She avoids housekeeping by going ice skating or on dates with her husband when they can find babysitting, and is still working out what to do with her degrees in journalism and international relations. The Courtship of Jo March is her first novel.

Much ado about Little Women www.marchandlaurencelittlewomen.wordpress.com

Paperback inquiries marchandlaurencelittlewomen@gmail.com

Product Details

BN ID: 2940153555737
Publisher: Trix Wilkins
Publication date: 12/05/2016
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,153,537
File size: 359 KB

About the Author

I am one of those readers in that awkward category of being utterly in love with Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women, while longing for an Austen-esque ending.

I loved Little Women Part 1, and had no idea Part 2 (Good Wives) existed, until years later. Jo was my favorite character – her penchant for writing, striving for independence, and pushing against societal expectations, resonated with me. I liked Laurie because he despised “fuss and feathers,” and for his liking Jo best of all because of her character. 

I was disappointed with how things turned out. I had hoped Jo would write and travel abroad. It was difficult to read of Laurie’s frittering away his talent and money. They had so much potential – Jo as an author, Laurie as a musician. And I started to wonder - under what circumstances might Laurie not been so frivolous at college, and Jo received a deeper education to further her writing?

I also thought that if either did ever marry, it would have been to the other – a possibility I came to suspect hung on that moment when Marmee advised Jo that she and Laurie were not suited for marriage. And I started to imagine - what could Marmee have possibly said, that would have allowed Jo to love Laurie, had she chosen? How could Laurie have possibly proposed, in a different manner?

And Beth…how was it that the Laurences did not seem to do more to save her? This made sense in the context of Louisa’s history, as she had lost her sister Elizabeth – which agitated me to amend at least fictional history, even if I could do nothing about saving Elizabeth in real life.

But I didn’t plan to write a book! I was sitting on the couch with my husband while on holiday, doodling possible conversations…And as I wrote, I found the characters saying and doing things I hadn’t planned – and to find out what happened next, I had to keep writing. I felt almost like the story wanted to be written.

How this came to be a book started with just one comment – and I am so grateful for that timely line of encouragement! I have thoroughly enjoyed revisiting the lives of some of my favorite literary characters, and imagining what might have been.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews