The Danish Directors 2: Dialogues on the New Danish Fiction Cinema

The Danish Directors 2: Dialogues on the New Danish Fiction Cinema


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The Danish Directors 2: Dialogues on the New Danish Fiction Cinema by Mette Hjort

Over the last two decades or so, the New Danish Cinema has established itself as an important source of cinematic renewal and innovation, and as a model for how small, minor or peripheral cinemas can survive in an industry dominated by Global Hollywood. Following in the footsteps of critically-acclaimed The Danish Directors (also published by Intellect), The Danish Directors 2 provides a practitioner’s perspective on the social, cultural, and economic milieus in which Danish film-makers have been able to develop their practice, and to thrive.

With insider information about the making, marketing and distribution of award-winning films, and interviews with seminal directors such as Anders Thomas Jensen, Annette K. Olesen, and Lone Scherfig, The Danish Directors 2 allows readers entry into what might seem to be a forbidding body of work. The editors are knowledgeable and sensitive interrogators, and their appreciation of the specific qualities of each director’s work elicits thoughtful replies. This volume will appeal to students, scholars, and cinephiles alike.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781841502717
Publisher: Intellect, Limited
Publication date: 08/15/2010
Pages: 310
Product dimensions: 6.80(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Mette Hjort is professor of visual studies at Lingnan University in Hong Kong and affiliate professor of Scandinavian Studies at the University of Washington, Seattle.

Eva Novrup Redvall is assistant professor in the Department of Media, Cognition, and Communication at the University of Copenhagen.

Table of Contents


Chapter 1:    Nikolaj Arcel
Chapter 2:    Christoffer Boe
Chapter 3:    Pernille Fischer Christensen
Chapter 4:    Per Fly
Chapter 5:    Peter Schønau Fog
Chapter 6:    Henrik Ruben Genz
Chapter 7:    Anders Thomas Jensen
Chapter 8:    Hella Joof
Chapter 9:    Ole Christian Madsen
Chapter 10:  Anders Morgenthaler
Chapter 11:  Annette K. Olesen
Chapter 12:  Niels Arden Oplev
Chapter 13:  Lone Scherfig
Chapter 14:  Omar Shargawi
Chapter 15:  Simon Staho
Chapter 16:  Paprika Steen
Chapter 17:  Jacob Thuesen


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews