The Definitive Chick Corea on Stretch and Concord

The Definitive Chick Corea on Stretch and Concord

by Chick Corea


$16.06 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.06, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


The Definitive Chick Corea on Stretch and Concord

This two-disc, 21-track collection covering Chick Corea's recordings over 30 years offers a dazzling array of settings and styles, originals and standards. It begins with the electrifying title track from 1979's Tap Step -- which featured the late Joe Farrell -- in a fusion quintet, continues through his "Bud Powell" composition with then-young lions Wallace Roney, Kenny Garrett, and Christian McBride (along with the timeless veteran Roy Haynes) in 1989, through to his beautiful solo rendition of "Spain" in 1999, all on disc one. Corea dazzles technically and is always in stellar company, from younger players like those mentioned above or younger still (Avishai Cohen) to contemporaries (Gary Burton and Michael Brecker), to mentors (Lee Konitz). While Corea does play Fender Rhodes and synthesizers on that first cut, the rest of this first disc features his acoustic piano. Disc two is more varied; balanced between Rhodes and acoustic piano. It begins in 2003 with the now familiar "Blue Monk" rendered by Corea and vocalist Bobby McFerrin, and moves through his New Trio period with John Patitucci and Dave Weckl, and into the Elektric Band with those players, Frank Gambale, and Eric Marienthal, with "Johnny's Landing" off 2004's To the Stars. There's a reunion with Airto on the quintet cut "North Africa" from The Ultimate Adventure, and a beautiful version of "Fool on the Hill" with Japanese piano sensation Hiromi. There's another pair of of duets, too: "Señorita" with Béla Fleck from The Enchantment, and a live version of "Crystal Silence" with Burton backed by an orchestra. Disc two closes with a balance of the old and the new. First, there's the crunchy rocking fusion of "The Disguise" from Five Peace Band: Live, which features Garrett, McBride, Vinnie Colaiuta, and guitarist John McLaughlin, followed by an unreleased live acoustic version of "La Fiesta" with Lenny White and Stanley Clarke from the Return to Forever "unplugged" tour, which was left off 2011's Forever. Although Corea's work has been compiled in various ways before this focused set was released, The Definitive Chick Corea, produced by the man himself, offers a look at how he views his own work over three decades.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/07/2011
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072329881
catalogNumber: 32988
Rank: 75626

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Armando Anthony Corea   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Marimbas,Hand Clapping,fender rhodes,Piano (Grand)
Michael Brecker   Tenor Saxophone
Gary Burton   Vibes
Frank Gambale   Guitar
Eddie Gomez   Bass
Joe Henderson   Saxophone
Dave Holland   Bass
Lee Konitz   Alto Saxophone
Bobby McFerrin   Vocals
John McLaughlin   Guitar
Pat Metheny   Guitar
John Patitucci   Bass
Gary Peacock   Bass
Bob Sheppard   Flute,Bass Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Allen Vizzutti   Trumpet
Lenny White   Drums
Bunny Brunel   Fretless Bass Guitar
Wallace Roney   Trumpet
Steve Wilson   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Airto Moreira   Shaker
Jorge Pardo   Flute
Carles Benavent   Bass
Tom Brechtlein   Drums,Snare Drums
Stanley Clarke   Bass
Vinnie Colaiuta   Drums
Adam Cruz   Drums
Rubem Dantas   Pandeiro
Steve Davis   Trombone
Joe Farrell   Tenor Saxophone
Béla Fleck   Banjo
Steve Gadd   Drums
Kenny Garrett   Alto Saxophone
Gregg Gottlieb   Cello
Roy Haynes   Drums
Bob Magnusson   Bass
Eric Marienthal   Saxophone
Christian McBride   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Carol Shive   Violin
Dave Weckl   Drums
Pernell Saturnino   Percussion
Avishai Cohen   Acoustic Bass
Jeff Ballard   Drums,Hand Clapping
Hiromi   Piano
Jonathan Stockhammer   Conductor

Technical Credits

John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Gary Burton   Producer
Bobby McFerrin   Duet
John McLaughlin   Producer
Don Heckman   Liner Notes
Johnny Burke   Composer
John Coltrane   Composer
Armando Anthony Corea   Composer,Producer,Duet
James Farber   Engineer
Béla Fleck   Producer
Clark Germain   Engineer
Bernie Kirsh   Engineer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Schmitt   Engineer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Abbey Anna   Art Direction
Jan Persson   Cover Photo
Sven Hoffman   Engineer
Hiromi   Duet
Kris Campbell   Photo Courtesy
Bill Rooney   Executive Producer
Andrew Elliott   Photo Courtesy

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews