The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection

by Allison Moorer


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Definitive Collection

Since she straddled the line between mainstream country and Americana, Allison Moorer's records of the late '90s and early 2000s received critical acclaim but not much chart attention. She had a handful of hits at the turn of the century, but none that climbed into the country Top 40, which means that 2005's The Definitive Collection is less of a hits album than a retrospective on an underappreciated artist. As a matter of fact, the 19-track collection is missing her highest-charting single, "Think It Over," which peaked at 57 in 2000 (her other three charting singles -- "Set You Free," "A Soft Place to Fall," and "Send Down an Angel" -- are all here). While some casual listeners may indeed miss that tune, the collection is nevertheless an excellent overview of her work at the time of its release in 2005, containing five cuts from her 1998 debut, Alabama Song; three songs from 2000's The Hardest Part; a duet with los Straitjackets from their 2001 album ("I Ain't the One"); her contribution to the 2001 film soundtrack Songcatcher ("Moonshiner"); four tracks from 2002's Miss Fortune; her version of "Storms Never Last" from the 2003 Waylon Jennings tribute album, Lonesome, On'ry and Mean; and four cuts from 2003's live album, Show. Each of these records is quite good on its own terms, but this makes for an excellent introduction for the curious, and The Definitive Collection a strong listen in its own right as well.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/07/2005
Label: Mca Nashville
UPC: 0602498808795
catalogNumber: 000441602

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Allison Moorer   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Marty Stuart   Mandolin
Shelby Lynne   Vocals
Russ Taff   Background Vocals
Ashley Cleveland   Background Vocals
Eric Darken   Percussion,Tambourine
John Wesley Ryles   Background Vocals
Jay Bennett   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Electric Guitar,Mellotron
Richard Bennett   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Mike Brignardello   Bass,Bass Guitar
Steve Conn   Accordion
Chad Cromwell   Drums
Dan Dugmore   Dobro,Pedal Steel Guitar
Larry Franklin   Fiddle
Kenny Greenberg   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Gut String Guitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Paul Griffith   Drums
David Grissom   Electric Guitar
Tony Harrell   Harmonium
Yvonne Hodges   Background Vocals
Jim Hoke   Clarinet,Harmonica
Jimmy Lester   Percussion,Drums
Joe McMahan   Guitar
Kim Morrison   Background Vocals
Greg Morrow   Drums
Nashville String Machine   Strings
Michael Noble   Electric Guitar
Russ Pahl   Pedal Steel Guitar
Dave Pomeroy   Bass,Bass Guitar
Michael Rhodes   Bass,Bass Guitar,Upright Bass
Darrell Scott   Acoustic Guitar
Joe Spivey   Acoustic Guitar,Fiddle
Harry Stinson   Percussion,Drums,Vocal Harmony
Glenn Worf   Double Bass,Upright Bass
Straitjackets   Ensemble
Danny Amis   Guitar
Peter Curry   Bass,Bass Guitar
Eddie Angel   Guitar
Joe McMahon   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Chris Carmichael   Violin,Conductor
Rick Schell   Drums
Lonesome Bob   Vocals
Chuck Mead   Acoustic Guitar
Tim Lauer   Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
Pete Finney   Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar
Michael Webb   Piano,fender rhodes
Rick Plant   Banjo,Electric Guitar
Tracy Hackney   Dulcimer
Kenneth Blevins   Drums
Manfred Jerome   Percussion
Jared Reynolds   Keyboards,Vocals
Louise Red   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
David Roe   Bass
Mike Noble   Electric Guitar
Alison Presswood   Bass Guitar
Louise Red   Background Vocals
Dave Roe   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Neil Young   Composer
Jessi Colter   Composer
Tony Brown   Executive Producer
R.S. Field   Producer,Audio Production
Kenny Greenberg   Producer,Audio Production
Gwil Owen   Composer
Chris Farren   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Jake Guralnick   Executive Producer
Rich Kienzle   Liner Notes
Chris Carmichael   Arranger
Vartan   Art Direction
Chuck Mead   Producer,Audio Production
Allison Moorer   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Traditional   Composer
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Doyle Lee Primm   Composer,Producer
Paul Gannon   Arranger
David Roe   Producer
Doyle Primm   Audio Production
Dave Roe   Audio Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews