The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection

by Billy Ray Cyrus

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Definitive Collection

This is the third hits compilation released of Billy Ray Cyrus, and it is by far the best. 1997's 12-track The Best of Billy Ray Cyrus: Cover to Cover has been made obsolete by hits Cyrus scored after its release. The 2003 Cyrus entry in the discount-priced 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection, with ten tracks, is only a sampler. The Definitive Collection lives up to its title by including all 19 country hits Cyrus scored from 1992 to early 2000, starting with "Achy Breaky Heart" and concluding with "You Won't Be Lonely Now," licensed from Monument Records, the label to which Cyrus moved after his Mercury tenure. The set is brought up to a CD-filling 80-minute length by the inclusion of two album tracks: "Truth Is I Lied," co-written by Cyrus with Don Von Tress, who wrote "Achy Breaky Heart," and rockabilly great Carl Perkins; and a revival of the Jeannie C. Riley hit "Harper Valley PTA." Due to the massive crossover success of his debut single, "Achy Breaky Heart," which hit number four on the Hot 100 and pushed his first album, Some Gave All, to sales of nine million copies, Cyrus is viewed as a one-hit wonder by the pop market, where none of his subsequent efforts did nearly as well. "Achy Breaky Heart" is his biggest country hit, too, of course, but, as documented here, he continued to score on the country charts with a variety of material, including the veterans' anthem "Some Gave All." While some of his singles echoed the novelty appeal of "Achy Breaky Heart," others were sturdy country ballads, while "Time for Letting Go," for instance, was a song written by Jude Cole that easily could have been at least an adult contemporary hit if it had been marketed as such. Country fans don't need to be told that there's more to Billy Ray Cyrus than "Achy Breaky Heart," and this modestly priced collection demonstrates that fact.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/22/2004
Label: Mercury Nashville
UPC: 0602498623077
catalogNumber: 000249802

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Billy Ray Cyrus   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Jimmy Collins   Composer
Billy Ray Cyrus   Composer
Tom T. Hall   Composer
Jude Cole   Composer
Carl Perkins   Composer
Walt Aldridge   Composer
John Bettis   Composer
Buddy Cannon   Composer
Bob DiPiero   Composer
Tony Haselden   Composer
Reed Nielsen   Composer
Wayne Perkins   Composer
Monty Powell   Composer
Terry Shelton   Composer
George Teren   Composer
Don Von Tress   Composer
Craig Wiseman   Composer
Brett Cartwright   Composer
Brett James   Composer
Vartan   Art Direction
Billy Henderson   Composer
Jerry Laseter   Composer
Donny Lowery   Composer
Curt Ryle   Composer
Cindy Cyrus   Composer
Alex Harvey   Composer
Bob Regan   Composer
Mike Curtis   Composer
Keith D. Hinton   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews