The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection

by Days of the New


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Definitive Collection

For a brief period in the late '90s, Days of the New ruled the airwaves with their mix of post-grunge attitude and swampy acoustics, sounding for all the world like Alice in Chains circa Unplugged. "The Down Town," "Shelf in the Room," and "Touch, Peel and Stand" all propelled the group's self-titled debut to platinum status, where it shared the spotlight alongside Creed's My Own Prison and, one year later, Fuel's Sunburn. The original lineup dissolved on tour, however, leaving Travis Meeks to recruit new members for both Days of the New II and Days of the New III, neither of which could match the first album's success. The group went on hiatus in 2002 and re-formed several years later, opting to whet its audience's appetite for a promised fourth album with this retrospective, The Definitive Collection. While all the charting singles are present, it's hard to imagine anyone viewing this as an essential album, since most fans already own the three studio efforts that precede it. If anything, The Definitive Collection highlights how inconsistent (or wildly eclectic, if you're a fanatic) the band has been since 1997. The murky grunge songs that open the disc give way to the orchestrated tunes of Days of the New II, eventually coming to a puzzling close with the quasi-prog experiments that Meeks tackled on his third album. Those itching for their '90s nostalgia fix should seek out the band's debut instead.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/2008
Label: Geffen Records
UPC: 0602517544987
catalogNumber: 001046602

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Days of the New   Primary Artist
Rick Baptist   Performing Ensemble
Jon Clarke   Performing Ensemble
Larry Corbett   Performing Ensemble
Joel Derouin   Performing Ensemble
Ronald Janelli   Performing Ensemble
John Thomas Johnson   Performing Ensemble
John Wittenberg   Performing Ensemble
Renita Koven   Performing Ensemble
Suzie Katayama   Conductor
Roy Horton   Trombone,Bass Trombone
John Ray   Choir, Chorus
Todd D. Smith   Organ
Peter Rhee   Violin
Roger Soren   Bassoon,Contrabassoon
Clark Hagan   Vocals
Travis Meeks   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Vocals
Todd Whitener   Guitar
Matt Taul   Drums
Jesse Vest   Bass
Eve Butler   Performing Ensemble
Wendy Doyle   Celli
John Chisholm   Violin
Virginia Frazier   Performing Ensemble
Trevor Johnson   English Horn,Oboe
Ray Rizzo   Percussion,Drums,Choir, Chorus
Nicole Scherzinger   Background Vocals
Scott Staidle   Violin,Conductor
Louise Harris   Celli
Doug Buchanan   Viola
Tim Zavadil   Clarinet,Bass Clarinet
Marcus Ratzenboeck   Violin
Jennifer Shackleton   Viola
Gerardo Hilera   Performing Ensemble
Ken Albrecht   French Horn
Keith Cook   Violin
Christina Hinton   Celli
Sidney King   Bass
Melinda Odle   Viola
Kingsley Wood   Bass
Steven Holtman   Performing Ensemble
Mario de León   Performing Ensemble
Matthew Funes   Performing Ensemble
Charles Boito   Performing Ensemble
Max Maxwell   Drums

Technical Credits

Ron Aniello   Producer
Clark Germain   Engineer
Bill Klatt   Producer,Engineer
Scott Litt   Producer
Suzie Katayama   Orchestration
Eric Sarafin   Engineer
Chris Bilheimer   Illustrations
Todd D. Smith   Producer,Engineer
Travis Meeks   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Todd Whitener   Composer
Dave Thompson   Liner Notes,Essay
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Scott Staidle   Orchestration
Joseph Castriota   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews