The Definitive Rock Collection

The Definitive Rock Collection

by Faces


$19.95 $22.99 Save 13% Current price is $19.95, Original price is $22.99. You Save 13%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Definitive Rock Collection

When Warner issued The Best of Faces: Good Boys When They're Asleep in 1999, it was a triumph, the very best single-disc issue of the Faces to date, capturing all of their barroom craziness, tattered elegance, good-time rock & roll hedonism, and droll English wit. In short, it was unbeatable -- until now. Rhino's The Definitive Rock Collection goes one better, actually 11 better on its 30-cut double-disc set. There are more cuts from the early days, such as "Around the Plynth" and "Shake, Shudder," and more middle- and late-period cuts, including two by Rod Stewart & the Faces, "(I Know) I'm Losing You" and "Jodie." Thank goodness they kept Ronnie Lane's sublime "Debris," "Stay with Me," the band's killer rip of Chuck Berry's "Memphis, Tennessee," and "Just Another Honky." Despite the terrible cover art and slipcase, this baby replaces the previous collection in sound and content. Sean Egan's liners work well, too. Add this to the amazing box set Five Guys Walk into a Bar... and you have everything you need.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/23/2007
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227480820
catalogNumber: 74808
Rank: 92287

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Faces   Primary Artist
Rod Stewart   Vocals,Group Member
Ronnie Wood   Bass,Guitar,Harmonica,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Ian McLagan   Piano,Harmonium,Hammond Organ,Clavinet,Group Member,Hammond B3
Ronnie Lane   Bass,Guitar,Tambourine,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Tetsu Yamauchi   Bass,Group Member
Kenney Jones   Percussion,Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Seamus Egan   Liner Notes
Chuck Berry   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Faces   Audio Production
Paul McCartney   Composer
Rod Stewart   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Ronnie Wood   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Ian McLagan   Composer
Mike Bobak   Producer,Audio Production
Glyn Johns   Producer,Audio Production
Cornelius Grant   Composer
Eddie Holland   Composer
Ronnie Lane   Composer
Gary Peterson   Discographical Annotation
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Tetsu Yamauchi   Composer
Kenney Jones   Composer
Dave Marsh   Author
Patrick Milligan   Discographical Annotation

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews