The Definitive Soul Collection

The Definitive Soul Collection

by Curtis Mayfield


$19.95 $22.99 Save 13% Current price is $19.95, Original price is $22.99. You Save 13%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Definitive Soul Collection

There have been piles of Curtis Mayfield anthologies throughout the years -- some great ones, some decent ones, and many bad ones. This entry in Rhino's Definitive Soul Collection series is one of the best two-disc Mayfield anthologies yet released. Sticking strictly to his solo years (some discs incorporate his years with the Impressions), these two discs contain every significant charting single through 1990's "Do Be Down," as well as essential moments like "(Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below We're All Going to Go," "The Makings of You," "Pusherman," "Superfly," and "Future Shock." As the '70s wind down, the quality takes a considerable dip, but the drastically underplayed "Love Me, Love Me Now" is a major exception. While the set is terrifically representative for the average casual fan, there are many more discoveries to be made throughout Mayfield's catalog.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/11/2006
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227766122
catalogNumber: 77661
Rank: 62429

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews