The Diamond Series

The Diamond Series

by Cassandra Dean

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Diamond Series by Cassandra Dean

Stop on by the Diamond Saloon, where devious Englishmen blithely charm sceptical saloon owners and where voluptuous singers archly tease the strong, silent type. Enjoy these two sexy tales from Freewill, Wyoming.

Owner of the Diamond Saloon and Theater, Alice Reynolds is astounded when a fancy Englishman offers to buy her saloon. She won't be selling the Diamond to anyone, let alone a man with a pretty, empty-headed grin...but then, she reckons that grin just might be a lie, and a man of intelligence and cunning resides beneath.

Rupert Llewellyn has another purpose for offering to buy the pretty widow's saloon. However, he never banked on her knowing eyes making him weak at the knees, or how his deception would burn upon his soul.

Each determined to outwit the other, they tantalize and tease until passion explodes. But can their desire bridge the lies told and trust broken?

Christmas Eve, the Diamond Saloon is empty of its people, and Pearl la Monte has a hankering to retire early. A pounding at the door rids her of such a fool notion. Her irritation rises when she sees the prissy, polite-like Garrett standing outside.

Ethan Garrett has a powerful need to gain succor. When the saloon's voluptuous redheaded singer scowls at him from the threshold of the Diamond, he doesn't stop to think on how his ire at her has disappeared. Or how he just wants to spend some time in her company.

When a blizzard storms in, trapping them, will they spend their time arguing or discover their irritation disguises something more?

Product Details

BN ID: 2940150964310
Publisher: Decadent Publishing Company, LLC
Publication date: 06/29/2015
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 842 KB

About the Author

Cassandra Dean is a best-selling, multi-published author of historical and fantasy romance. She is proud to call South Australia her home, where she regularly cheers on her AFL football team and creates her next tale.

Visit Cassandra's website at
Join Cassandra's mailing list at
Follow Cassandra on Facebook at and on Twitter @authorCassDean
Contact Cassandra at

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Diamond Series 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Gina04 More than 1 year ago
Cassandra Dean
SummerSnowFalls More than 1 year ago
wo books in one! This boxed set features ROUGH DIAMOND (the Diamond series #1) and FOOL’S GOLD (the Diamond series #2). Part 1 – ROUGH DIAMOND Alice Reynolds has lived in Freewill, Wyoming long enough to know that you don’t trust any stranger that comes into town. Especially one sporting a mustard yellow waistcoat, speaking in an outrageous English accent, and offering to buy your precious saloon. What Alice doesn’t realize at first is that Rupert Llewellyn doesn’t actually want her saloon, but the massive coal deposit buried underneath it. As each tries to figure out the other, attraction takes hold and soon Alice and Rupert find themselves in a place neither anticipated! Wonderful pacing and use of dramatic tension – another winner from Cassandra Dean! Anticipation and tension build through this short novella culminating in not only the Diamond saloon’s monthly Spectacular show, but also Alice and Rupert’s surrender to their mutual attraction. Rather than centering around the violent or rugged sterotypical plots of western novels, this plot is instead a romance in the truest sense of the word focusing on the romantic build-up between Alice and Rupert using the western setting as a backdrop instead of an external force acting upon the characters. Alice is guarded around Rupert; she knows he is hiding something, but is intrigued by the handsome stranger. She is also a happily independent businesswoman who does not appreciate the men around her attempting to quash her freedom and ability to make her own decisions. At first, I didn’t like Rupert. I thought he was an over-the-top dandy who spoke in an overly-affected English sterotype. Thankfully, it was made clear very quickly that this was an intention choice made by Rupert to hide who he really was from the people of Freewill, not his actual character. The real Rupert is a tough Welshman with a keen intellect and sharp attention to detail. He is surprised by his growing feelings towards Alice, but must balance his genuine interest in her against the contract he signed with his employers. Part 2 – FOOL’S GOLD A feel-good Christmas novella, FOOL’S GOLD pairs the fiery Pearl la Monte (from the previous book) with rough-n-tumble Ethan Garrett. The two have never seen eye-to-eye, but when a freak storm traps them inside the Diamond saloon overnight they soon realize that the passion they channel into their heated arguments is much better channeled into release between the sheets. This novella was a cute peek into the lives of Pearl and Garrett and shows the story of how these two tempestuous people get together. They are constantly sniping at each other (Pearl moreso than Garrett), but secretly they genuinely enjoy the banter and excitement the other provides. Originally posted at Plot Twist Reviews [dot] Com I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Pebbles92 More than 1 year ago
The Diamond Series Box Set is a two for one deal containing both books in the series. I tend to be a bit OCD about reading all books in a series in order so this was perfect for me. Book One, "Rough Diamond" started off a bit on the slow side which is only why I have given the series 4 stars. I struggled a bit trying to make sense of what role Rupert was playing. Smith also had me really confused at first. Where did he come from and why was he important to the story? Once the pieces started to fall into place as to the who, what and why, I was drawn in and finished the story very quickly. As for Book Two, "Fool's Gold", I absolutely adored this story. It was extremely short and really only a sneak peek into their lives but I fell in love with Pearl and Garrett. Two lonely souls meeting on a cold dreary winter night was definitely the perfect setting. All in all, this is a great box set that I would definitely recommend. I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
green____ More than 1 year ago
Historical Western Romance Delight... This box set contains the books Rough Diamond and Fool's Gold. The first one is the longer of the two and introduces us to Alice, the owner of the Diamond Saloon. She is a widow and has done everything she can to make her saloon the best it can be. She meets Mr. Rupert T. Llewellyn, but is there more to him than meets the eye? In Fool's Gold, you get to see more of Pearl, Alice's best friend and Ethan Garrett. These two have been getting on each others' nerves for years. What happens when a blizzard comes along trapping them together? I enjoyed how things flowed and unveiled themselves within both stories. Loved the characters and how they came to life between the pages of this box set. The banter between characters livened things up and the Epilogues left me with a smile. Looking forward to reading more from this author! * A copy of this set was gifted to me in exchange for an honest review.