The Dirty Dozen

The Dirty Dozen

by George Thorogood


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Dirty Dozen

After more than a decade of recording for other labels, George Thorogood & the Destroyers moved back to EMI/Capitol for the release of 2009's The Dirty Dozen. Split into two sides (just like a vinyl album!) and consisting of covers of classic blues songs, some bar band favorites, and a couple of lesser-known tracks, the album showcases the current sound of the band and digs back into the archives to uncover some buried tracks from the '80s and '90s. What's uncanny is that apart from the tinny sound of the recordings from the late '80s/early '90s, the band and Thorogood sound exactly the same almost two decades later. Just as they sound virtually unchanged from the first time they stepped into a recording studio. George still has the same ferocious slide technique, his growling vocals have barely aged, and the band still has the feel of skilled musicians who know how to play it simple. In other words, GT & the Destroyers still rock, and if you were ever a fan, you still should be. The only real problem with this record is that as cool as it is to hear the band's 1991 take on "Six Days on the Road" or their tumble through Howlin' Wolf's "Howlin' for My Baby," it'd be better to hear more of the new tracks. They have a more immediate feel and the group sounds like they're playing for fun rather than chasing commercial success. There's a fire in "Born Lover" and a bounce in "Run Myself Out of Town" that the old, muffled production can't reproduce. Not that the old tracks are bad by any means, and longtime fans of GT will be glad to have them. Just as they will be glad that he and the Destroyers are still around and still rocking out.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/28/2009
Label: Capitol
UPC: 5099968408220
catalogNumber: 84082

Album Credits

Performance Credits

George Thorogood   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Jim Suhler   Guitar
Billy Blough   Bass
Hank Carter   Saxophone
Jeff Simon   Drums
Ian Stewart   Piano
Steve Chrismar   Guitar
Buddy Leach   Saxophone
Steve Chrismar   Guitar
Jake Vest   Vocals

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
Chuck Berry   Composer
Nick Gravenites   Composer
Terry Manning   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Roy Head   Composer
Mickey Bones   Composer
Shawn Berman   Engineer
Jim Gaines   Producer,Audio Production
David Getz   Composer
Wendell Holmes   Composer
Ken Irwin   Producer,Audio Production
Gene Kurtz   Composer
Ellas McDaniel   Composer
McKinley Morganfield   Composer
John Nagy   Engineer
Tom Recchion   Direction
Adam Hill   Engineer
Jeff Smith   Direction
Carl Montgomery   Composer
Earl Green   Composer
Quattrocchi   Direction
John Adam Estes   Composer
Chester Burnett   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews