The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

by Alexandra Bracken

Hardcover

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, September 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding by Alexandra Bracken

"I would say it's a pleasure to meet thee, Prosperity Oceanus Redding, but truly, I only anticipate the delights of destroying thy happiness ."


Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his old and storied family history-that is, until he discovers the demon living inside him. Turns out Prosper's great-great-great-great-great-something grandfather made-and then broke-a contract with a malefactor, a demon who exchanges fortune for eternal servitude. And, weirdly enough, four-thousand-year-old Alastor isn't exactly the forgiving type.

The fiend has reawakened with one purpose--to destroy the family whose success he ensured and who then betrayed him. With only days to break the curse and banish Alastor back to the demon realm, Prosper is playing unwilling host to the fiend, who delights in tormenting him with nasty insults and constant attempts to trick him into a contract. Yeah, Prosper will take his afterlife without a side of eternal servitude, thanks. But with the help of his long-lost uncle, Barnabas, and his daughter, Nell, a witch-in-training, it seems like Prosper has at least a fighting chance of ridding himself of Alastor before the demon escapes and wreaks havoc on his family.

Little does Prosper know, the malefactor's control over his body grows stronger with each passing night and there's a lot Alastor isn't telling his dim-witted (but admittedly strong-willed) human host

From #1 New York Times best-selling author Alexandra Bracken comes a tale of betrayal and revenge, of old hurts passed down from generation to generation. Can you ever fully right a wrong, ever truly escape your history? Or will Prosper and Alastor be doomed to repeat it?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781484778173
Publisher: Disney Press
Publication date: 09/05/2017
Series: Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding Series
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 117,390
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author


Alexandra Bracken is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Darkest Minds series. Born and raised in Arizona, she moved East to study history and English at the College of William & Mary in Virginia. After working in publishing for several years, Alex now writes full-time and can be found hard at work on her next novel in a charming little apartment that's perpetually overflowing with books. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
KaylaErco More than 1 year ago
A perfect read for around Halloween time. This book is cute and so funny, I was laughing out loud! Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was not expecting this to happen but now.... I HAVE TO GET THE SECOND CHAPTER AHHHHHHHHHHHHH but I love the book
18876111 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! I felt that it was a loose retelling of The House of the Seven Gables. I could not believe the plot twist. I really loved characters, the magic and felt that the setting was atmospheric. This book was very well developed and very well researched. It was really cool to be able to recognize places in the book. I loved the exchanges between Alastor and Prosper, they were witty. I can't wait to see what happens in the second book.
Where_Stephanie_Reads More than 1 year ago
The book was like a really spooky book. Filled with cobwebs, demons, and witchcraft. I liked the concept of the book and how it was put together. I thought at first that this book was going to be a book about exorcism or a demon hunter book but this was totally different. The book itself paints a dark story but adds its light humor to the mix. I also like the fact that book made me think of Tim Burton and Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events. As for characters I really liked getting to know. Prosper is not the most popular person in his town and his family. Felt super sad about how his life was and the story made me want to be his friend because he was way better than what his family thought of him. As for my favorite character in the book is Alastor the demon. He was both serious, sarcastic and even has a touch of humor. Overall I really like most of the Halloween spooky moments in the book and like how the both Alastor and Prosper interacted with each other throughout the story. I can’t wait to see what happens in the second book.
MorganZeFay More than 1 year ago
Loved it! So fun and spooky--perfect for fans of Hocus Pocus and A Series of Unfortunate Events!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good! It's categorized as a Middle Grade, but I enjoyed it immensely as an almost 22 year old. Very creepy and PERFECT for the season. And (yes, I'm shallow) the dust jacket for the hardcover is just gorgeous!
YAandWine More than 1 year ago
THE DREADFUL TALE OF PROSPER REDDING is spooky, fun, and the perfect read heading into the Halloween season. Alexandra Bracken has knocked it out of the park with her first middle grade novel! PROSPER has all the elements that I look for in an MG book, and they're all executed so well. This book is cute, quirky, funny, and an absolute delight to read. There is something so entirely charming about a story that includes demons, witches, ghosts, etc. but still manages to maintain a lighthearted tone, and PROSPER certainly does that. I was enchanted by this book from the very first page and found it to be such a refreshing change of pace from my usual reads. I absolutely cannot wait for the next book in the series. *I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*
Jolie More than 1 year ago
There were a couple of reasons why I requested this book on NetGalley. One was because of the cover. I feel that the cover of The Dreadful Tale Of Prosper Redding totally captures what this book is about. The white fox in the mirror with a candle is creepy and a little surreal. The other reason is a personal one. I am forever on the look out for books for my 9-year-old to read. So, when this book turned up on my homepage, I requested it. I wasn’t disappointed with The Dreadful Tale Of Prosper Redding. It was a quick read with likable main characters, evil secondary characters and a twist at the end that I didn’t see coming. Now, saying that I do think that it might be a little too scary for some Middle-Grade readers. There are some situations and scenes that could scare a tween/early teen. Like the scene in The Castle….when Prosper and Prue were getting tested or the scene at the end of the book with the mirrors. So just keep this in mind if you are going to buy/take this book out from the library. I felt bad for Prosper in the beginning of the book. He was bullied mercilessly by everyone, including his own twin….who he used to super close with. His grandmother reminded me, strongly, of Joan Crawford and I won’t even begin to talk about his parents. What I got out of those first chapters was that they weren’t around much, leaving him to be with his grandmother most of the time. His family was also almost unnaturally gifted. Everything they touched turned to gold. Prosper was one of the only ones in his family that weren’t good-looking or had a gift (or so he was told). It was a very screwed up family dynamic going on in those first few chapters. The night that Alastor, a malefactor from Downstairs (the different realms are fully explained in the book), who is heir to the throne of Downstairs (again, explained in the book). He got sent into Prosper’s body during the ritual that Prosper was forced into. He had a vow that he would destroy the Reddings and then go back to the Downstairs to retake back his position as heir. But, it was easier said than done because Prosper was doing everything in his power to get rid of Alastor….that didn’t include killing Prosper. The dialogue between Prosper and Alastor was pretty funny and Alastor did make himself known in different ways throughout the book. Like when he made Prosper run super fast and he smelled like eggs afterward or when he forced Prosper to write in Greek. He also would hijack Prosper’s body and go around town, trying to find out who was ruling the Downstairs. Now, I did figure that something shady was going on with Nell and Barnabas but I was a little floored by what it was. I had actually liked Nell. She was the first person, ever, who actually treated Prosper like a person worth spending time with. So yeah, I was a tad floored when certain things were revealed about her and Barnabas. I really liked that the author took her time and researched Salem. Having lived the next town over for years, attended college there, given birth to 2 out of my 3 children there, and having gone to the Salem Willows every summer for years, it irks me when I read a book and everything is wrong. She got present day Salem, with the strip malls and the touristy shops, right. She also had the history of the Salem Witch Trials right too. They weren’t just held in Salem. They were also held in Danvers, Andover and a couple of other cities nearby. Actually, in my hometown, there is a monument, which off