The Dreamweaver's Journey: The Age of Awakenings Book 1

The Dreamweaver's Journey: The Age of Awakenings Book 1

by Diana L. Wicker

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940045247030
Publisher: Diana L. Wicker
Publication date: 08/27/2013
Series: Age of Awakenings
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 565 KB
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Diana is an indie author living in the balmy climate of the US south with family, two dogs, two cats, and a cantakerous rabbit. She enjoys reading, sewing (clothing, costuming, and experimental toy-making), and RPG games. (She grew up with the old school paper/pencil style of gaming, but has transitioned happily to the highly interactive world of video games.) And, as if she had more time to spare, she has recently invested in her first Asian ball jointed doll.

The idea for Feyron started with a map, a place for her daughter to tell stories and live out storytelling role-playing adventures with her friends. The lore grew around the map, for every world needs lore if you are going to “live” there. The idea for a series, Tales from Feyron, grew out of the lore, for if you’re going to invent a world, you may as well play there too. The stories are continuing to grow through the various historical ages of Feyron and have just started to ripple outwards to the Worlds Beyond touched by magic.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Dreamweaver's Journey: the Age of Awakenings Book 1: (Tales from Feyron - the Ripples of Power) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
NNLight More than 1 year ago
The Realm of Feyron is the origin of all things magical, the center point where all worlds meet. Once upon a time, there were several portals/entrances within the Temple of Pyli connecting the Worlds Beyond and spreading magic everywhere. Now many gateways are silent and Feyron weakens as the magic fades and the Guardians are lost. For the first time in over 300 years a Dreamweaver has come of age and is tasked with contacting the Guardians. When she awakens in the night after a vision of her best friend lost and alone, injured in the snows at the top of the Crystal Mountains, she, her betrothed and her brother seeks out the Sacred Fire in the Temple in an attempt to call forth more information. A voice calls out from the fire, “Dreamweaver, you are summoned.” An image appears of an ancient path through the Mist Shrouded Forest leading to a hidden gate into the Crystal Caverns below the mountains. The Guardians have summoned her on a quest that will take her to the four realms of light within Feyron in search of answers and aid. I really enjoyed this book. I loved the high fantasy elements and the author did a fantastic job of providing the reader with descriptive back-story to this magical universe. I was really taken in by the three teens and their quest to save their friend before it’s too late. The conflict was strong and I was rooting for them the whole time. I also loved the budding romance between the two couples. It was sweet and reminded me of my youth. Two things held me back from giving this book a five star rating. The first was the Storyteller and the little children who were listening to the story. It was fine at first but as the book went on, in the middle of the action, the Storyteller would return and interact with the children. While this works for The Princess Bride, it doesn’t work for me here. I found it jarring and it took me outside of the characters. The second thing that held me back was the first chapter or two. It was a little slow-moving and I found myself getting easily confused. There were so many characters being introduced and there was a lot of focus on the two teen couples at the Ball. Once I got through the Ball, though, the plot really started to move along at a good pace. I would recommend this book and the rest of the series (which I am reading, by the way) to anyone who loves fantasy rich with world-building universes. Fans of Lord of the Rings, Games of Thrones and The Golden Compass will love this book and the rest of the series. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.