The Dressmaker's Duke

The Dressmaker's Duke

by Jess Russell

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940150715233
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Publication date: 09/22/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 370
Sales rank: 1,190,150
File size: 344 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Dressmaker's Duke 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
def618 More than 1 year ago
I bought this book last winter on my ereader and forgot about it until a FB group had a review which reminded me of it. It is an amazing first book! I could not put it down. It's a romance with wonderful depth to the characters. The hero and heroine have flaws, but as you read you learn about their lives and it all makes sense. It has some sex scenes but they are not graphic. I don't write plot spoilers but if you miss this book you are missing a good one. I can't wait for more by Jess Russell!
Bootsy2Shoes More than 1 year ago
First time romance novelist, Jess Russell, has a flair for the funny, a flair for the theatrical, and a flair for the damn-it-I'm-just-all-beside-myself-here-because-there's-so-much-damned-steamy-sex-in-the-air! I loved the story and never felt I was being pandered to as a "reader of romance novels." Ms. Russell really seems to hold the material and her audience in high esteem, you can tell - for she's created complex characters for empathetic readers, and she's taken great care to build their histories so that they arrive on Page One... naturally, inevitably - as their choices, fates, and destinies would have it - thus, their character choices make perfect (if sometimes petulant and frustrating) sense throughout the book. The novel is filled with breathless passion, danger, adventure, consummated and unrequited love! - and it's all informed by the weighty human chains of learned social and familial patterns that the characters must break free of, in order to stake claim to their own identities and create truly fulfilling lives. As I said, the author has a flair for the funny - I chuckled and guffawed throughout the book! You can tell Ms. Russell is well versed (not only in romance novels but also...) in theater and Restoration Comedies, as she keeps the reader on his or her toes... and always breathless. She's very naughty - and it's lots of fun! This is her first novel? We should all be so blessed with this kind of budding talent. One thing I know for sure - Jess Russell has taken great care to craft a fine first novel - and in doing so has crafted a bright, shining future for herself as a romance writer. I can't wait to read her next effort!
Jenny00 More than 1 year ago
The Dressmaker's Duke was a FABULOUS read! I was sad to have it end and am looking forward to Jess Russell's next book. I was amazed to learn it was her first novel, as I would've guessed it came from a very seasoned author. The story was intelligently and interestingly told and still had that wonderful sweeping romance about it. Lovely and compelling. I've given it to my sister to read and decided to spread the word by writing a review. Thanks, Jess for treating me to hours of heaven! Really A+
greekgoddess422 More than 1 year ago
love this book, and i read alot of historical romance. this is a very indept story about a Duke and a dressmaker Rhys Merrick, Duke of Roydan and Olivia Weston, lady-turned-dressmaker, is a scintillating one. Rhys is so beautifully drawn from hisobsession with clocks to his heartbreaking isolation. His overwhelming passion for Olivia Weston pushes him to confront his fears. And Olivia is the perfect woman to challenge this monkish duke. She is funny, independent and fiercely loyal to those she loves. She was isused as a lady in her first season and she went away . Rhys nickname is the Monk. His father was a degenerate rogue and Rhys dosent want to be anything like him. A string of things ( mishapps ) happen to Oliva and she has to turn to Rhys to right things . Rhys as payment preposes she becomes his mistress. Rhys reminds me a little of the Duke in Julia Quins The Duke and I. I loved the begginning where Rhys goes into the shop and demans the dresses he bought for his former misstress. Get the book to see if Olivia is indead a Lady and where her father estes is and do she and Rhys get together . love the Epiloge . Ms. Russell’s greatest strength is her depth of characterizationmaer who he is obsessed about .
AshGardner More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Every night I looked forward to going upstairs, climbing in bed and opening the pages to find out what was happening next to Olivia and Rhys. Jess Russell is an excellent writer and I do not say that lightly. This is really good writing, and good story telling too. Russell breathes a wonderful depth of life into every character, filling each of them with longing and empathy, cruelty and jealousy, all the emotions that make us sadly, tenderly human. This is such a compelling and fun read. I highly recommend it.
PattyG3 More than 1 year ago
Not a Cookie-Cutter Romance! In, The Dressmaker’s Duke, Jess Russell weaves a multifaceted tale full of humor mixed with a touch of darkness. The story includes twists and turns that had this reader turning pages. I love a good chase, and the two steps forward, one step back dance of Rhys Merrick, Duke of Roydan and Olivia Weston, lady-turned-dressmaker, is a scintillating one. Rhys is so beautifully drawn from his OCD-like obsession with clocks to his heartbreaking isolation. His overwhelming passion for Olivia Weston pushes him to confront his fears. And Olivia is the perfect woman to challenge this monkish duke. She is funny, independent and fiercely loyal to those she loves. Ms. Russell’s greatest strength is her depth of characterization. Even the villainous ex-mistress (I must confess, a favorite) is chock full of rich detail. I read a lot Not a Cookie-Cutter Romance!, October 3, 2014 By PattyG III - See all my reviews This review is from: The Dressmaker's Duke (Paperback) In, The Dressmaker’s Duke, Jess Russell weaves a multifaceted tale full of humor mixed with a touch of darkness. The story includes twists and turns that had this reader turning pages. I love a good chase, and the two steps forward, one step back dance of Rhys Merrick, Duke of Roydan and Olivia Weston, lady-turned-dressmaker, is a scintillating one. Rhys is so beautifully drawn from his OCD-like obsession with clocks to his heartbreaking isolation. His overwhelming passion for Olivia Weston pushes him to confront his fears. And Olivia is the perfect woman to challenge this monkish duke. She is funny, independent and fiercely loyal to those she loves. Ms. Russell’s greatest strength is her depth of characterization. Even the villainous ex-mistress (I must confess, a favorite) is chock full of rich detail. I read a lot of historical romance and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a darker, flawed Hero. I look forward to Ms. Russell’s next book!of historical romance and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a darker, flawed Hero. I look forward to Ms. Russell’s next book!Not a Cookie-Cutter Romance!, October 3, 2014 By PattyG III - See all my reviews This review is from: The Dressmaker's Duke (Paperback) In, The Dressmaker’s Duke, Jess Russell weaves a multifaceted tale full of humor mixed with a touch of darkness. The story includes twists and turns that had this reader turning pages. I love a good chase, and the two steps forward, one step back dance of Rhys Merrick, Duke of Roydan and Olivia Weston, lady-turned-dressmaker, is a scintillating one. Rhys is so beautifully drawn from his OCD-like obsession with clocks to his heartbreaking isolation. His overwhelming passion for Olivia Weston pushes him to confront his fears. And Olivia is the perfect woman to challenge this monkish duke. She is funny, independent and fiercely loyal to those she loves. Ms. Russell’s greatest strength is her depth of characterization. Even the villainous ex-mistress (I must confess, a favorite) is chock full of rich detail. I read a lot of historical romance and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a darker, flawed Hero. I look forward to Ms. Russell’s next boo
marybethbass More than 1 year ago
I loved love loved loved the smart, sexy, slightly prickly hero and the lovely, capable heroine of THE DRESSMAKER'S DUKE. And I loved the descriptions of the dresses, especially the one with the very vital ribbon. (Read the book to find out what it does!). THE DRESSMAKER'S DUKE is perfect for fans of Elizabeth Hoyt and Amanda Quick. I loved it!