The Earth Remembers Everything

The Earth Remembers Everything

by Adrienne Fitzpatrick


$17.06 $18.95 Save 10% Current price is $17.06, Original price is $18.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25


'The Earth Remembers Everything' is a masterful blend of history, travel and poetic narrative, tracing the author's journeys to some of the most difficult destinations in the world; the Cui Chi Tunnels in Vietnam, Tiananmen Square in China, Hiroshima in Japan, and Auschwitz-Birkenau in Poland; First Nations sites such as Mosquito Lake on Moresby Island, Haida Gwaii and Chinlac, and a deserted Carrier village at the confluence of the Stuart and Nechako Rivers, where the Chilcotin massacred the Carrier in 1745.These places where violent eruptions occurred throughout the history of humanity have created deep cracks in the emotional bonds between the people who were there, as well as forever transforming the spirit and essence of the land where the violence occurred. In this first book by Adrienne Fitzpatrick, she struggles with how to speak the unspeakable, and questions what it is that we find so compelling about the places we are drawn to. Theanswer, she finds, lies in the memories that are stored in the earth. 'The Earth Remembers Everything' is an intimate, powerful story in which Place is the main character and we are taken along to bear witness to these sites that still hold the sadness and secrets of the past.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781894759908
Publisher: Caitlin Press Inc.
Publication date: 09/25/2012
Edition description: Unabridged
Pages: 160
Product dimensions: 7.80(w) x 5.40(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Adrienne Fitzpatrick earned her Masters in English at the University of Northern British Columbia, where she completed a creative thesis. Her fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction have appeared in 'Prairie Fire, CV2' and 'subTerrain', and she is one ofthe poetry editors for 'Room' magazine. 'The Earth Remembers Everything' is her first book.

Table of Contents

Preface 11

Mosquito Lake 15

Poland 16

Dene 21

Poland 23

Dene 30

Poland 32

Mosquito Lake 35

Mile 13 36

Dene 41

Mile 13 43

Mosquito Lake 46

Mile 13 47

Vietnam 49

Dene 53

Vietnam 55

Mosquito Lake 60

Vietnam 61

Dene 63

Vietnam 65

Japan 70

Dene 76

Japan 77

Dene 81

Japan 82

In Search of Mosquito Lake 86

Dene 95

In Search of Mosquito Lake 96

Dene 103

Return to Mosquito Lake 104

Chinlac 106

Dene 108

Chinlac 109

Dene 111

Chinlac 112

Dene 114

Chinlac 115

Dene 117

Chinlac 118

Dene 120

Chinlac 121

Dene 123

Chinlac 124

Dene 126

Chinlac 127

Dene 129

Chinlac 130

Dene 132

Chinlac 133

Dene 134

Chinlac 135

Mosquito Lake 136

Acknowledgements 139

Selected Bibliography 141

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews