Error occurred while rendering Product Content.


The Edge of Innocence: The Trial of Casper Bennett by David P. Miraldi

The Edge of Innocence is a work of historical fiction based on the 2964 murder trial of Casper Bennett, a man accused of drowning his wife in a bathtub of scalding water in Lorain, Ohio. Bennett's sensational trial pitted an aggressive, mercurial county prosecutor against the author's father, a civil trial attorney who had never defended anyone for murder. The book not only recreates the tension and excitement of this courtroom battle, but also highlights the uncertain edge that often divides guilt from innocence.

The author was ten years old when he answered the phone late at night when Bennett called his father from jail, seeking his legal representaion. Forty years later and long after his father's death, the author found the Bennett file buried in the bottom of his mother's closet. From the moment he began reading the papers, the long-forgotten drama cast a spell on him. As he uncovered more and more of the facts, the story he had known as a child disappeared to be replaced by a far different story.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780998918914
Publisher: David P. Miraldi
Publication date: 07/05/2017
Pages: 406
Sales rank: 102,104
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

About the Author

This is the first book by David Miraldi, a civil trial attorney practicing in northeastern Ohio for almost forty years. David grew up in Lorain, Ohio and has lived in Lorain County for most of his life.
For most of his legal career, David represented everyday people in battles with insurance companies and large corporations. Based on peer reviews, David was consistently asked to join organizations such as Best Attorneys in America, SuperLawyers, and others.
Writing and reading have always been important parts of his life. As a lawyer, he enjoyed writing briefs and struggling to find the right words to be persuasive with trial and appellate judges as well as juries. Now semi-retired, he finally has the time to take on more significant writing projects. The Edge of Innocence is the first novel in a series involving legal themes.

Table of Contents



Chapter 1 Sergeant Charles Springowski - December 20, 1963 11

Chapter 2 Lon Adams - December 23, 1963 25

Chapter 3 Sergeant William Solomon - December 21, 1963 37

Chapter 4 Irene Miller - December 27, 1963 49

Chapter 5 John Buddish Jr. - December 28, 1963 61

Chapter 6 John Kozich - January 7, 1964 69

Chapter 7 John Bolcis Otero - February 7, 1964 85

Chapter 8 Ray Miraldi - February 28, 1964 93

Chapter 9 Ray Miraldi - March 2, 1964 99

Chapter 10 Judge John D. Pincura - March 9, 1964 107

Chapter 11 Paul Mikus - March 26, 1964 111


Chapter 12 March 30, 1964 129

Chapter 13 March 31, 1964 149

Chapter 14 April 1, 1964 153

Chapter 15 April 2, 1964 165

Chapter 16 April 3, 1964 183

Chapter 17 April 4, 1964 199

Chapter 18 April 6, 1964 203

Chapter 19 April 7, 1964 221

Chapter 20 April 8, 1964 (Morning) 237

Chapter 21 April 8, 1964 (Afternoon) 257

Chapter 22 April 9, 1964 (Morning) 273

Chapter 23 April 9, 1964 (Afternoon) 291

Chapter 24 April 10, 1964 307

Chapter 25 April 13, 1964 329

Chapter 26 April 14 and 15, 1964 355

Chapter 27 April 16, 1964 373

Chapter 28 September 1965 377



Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Edge of Innocence: The Trial of Casper Bennett 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous 2 days ago
An edge of your seat read of a real murder mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a gem of a book. Told from multiple points of view, I liked the narrative style and pacing of this true crime story re-creation. I enjoyed reading about the personalities and backgrounds of the characters that epitomized the cultural quilt of Lorain, Ohio in the 1960’s. You will be absorbed in the twists and turns of the trial and its aftermath; so much so that you will most likely abandon other activities to reach the conclusion.