Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
The English Wife

The English Wife

by Adrienne Chinn

Paperback

$14.99 $16.99 Save 12% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 31

Overview

‘An emotive and engaging read’ Rosanna Ley

‘Rich, evocative and utterly immersive, this beautifully written book swept me away’ Jenny Ashcroft

‘Evocative, sensual and authentic’ Jane Johnson

VE Day 1945: As victory bells ring out across the country, war bride Ellie Burgess’ happiness is overshadowed by grief. Her charismatic Newfoundlander husband Thomas is still missing in action.
 
Until a letter arrives explaining Thomas is back at home on the other side of the Atlantic recovering from his injuries.

Travelling to a distant country to live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing Ellie has ever had to do. But nothing can prepare her for the harsh realities of her new home…

September 11th 2001: Sophie Parry is on a plane to New York on the most tragic day in the city’s history. While the world watches the news in horror, Sophie’s flight is rerouted to a tiny town in Newfoundland and she is forced to seek refuge with her estranged aunt Ellie.
 
Determined to discover what it was that forced her family apart all those years ago, newfound secrets may change her life forever…
 
This is a timeless story of love, sacrifice and resilience perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Lorna Cook and Gill Paul.

The English Wife:

‘An emotive and engaging read’ Rosanna Ley

‘Rich, evocative and utterly immersive, this beautifully written book swept me away’ Jenny Ashcroft

“An epic tale of family, tragedy & love… I highly recommend this book!!” Books, Wine, Cats 5*

“The sense of suspense makes this story a page turner! Highly recommend this book, especially if you’re looking for a WWII era book without all of the historical stuff” To Read is to Breathe, 5*

“I couldn’t put it down. It was not your typical historical novel & I think that’s what I loved about it. Great book!” Dabbookclub, 4*

“A book that drew me in from the first pages! The characters come alive, they’re so well written. Fans of historic fiction will love this story. An author to follow” Consumer review, 4*



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008412401
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/16/2021
Pages: 448
Sales rank: 317,207
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Adrienne Chinn was born in an old paper-making town in Newfoundland, and grew up in rural Quebec and Montreal. She retraced her English father’s footsteps back to England, where she now lives and works as an interior designer.

When not writing or designing, she can normally be found in the queue at Gatwick heading off somewhere new: she travels all over the world, but most often to her beloved Morocco, which she has been visiting regularly for over ten years.

Customer Reviews