The Essential Joe Satriani

The Essential Joe Satriani

by Joe Satriani
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, March 22 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Essential Joe Satriani

The Essential Joe Satriani is a solid alternative to the equally stellar two-disc career overview Electric Joe Satriani: An Anthology, with the main difference being that it spans 13 albums -- all the way from 1986's Not of This Earth to 2008's Professor Satchafunkilus and the Musterion of Rock -- instead of stopping short at 2002's Strange Beautiful Music. Since much of Satch's notable material comes from the late '80s and early '90s, either option makes for an excellent starter pack and does indeed cover the "essentials," including shredder faves "Surfing with the Alien," "Satch Boogie," "Summer Song," "Always with Me, Always with You," and "Flying in a Blue Dream." For newcomers hoping to get acquainted with the Guitar God via a single disc, Sony/Legacy's Playlist: The Very Best of Joe Satriani compilation offers a cheaper alternative. But, for those looking for a thorough chronological overview, this is the best to date. And, as a nice bonus, the liners include an explanation of each song's inspiration, penned by Joe Satriani himself.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/2010
Label: Epic
UPC: 0886977867224
catalogNumber: 778672
Rank: 36125

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joe Satriani   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bass,Percussion,Piano,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Hand Clapping
Stuart Hamm   Bass
Andy Fairweather Low   Rhythm Guitar
Simon Phillips   Drums
Gregg Bissonette   Drums
Matt Bissonette   Bass
Jeff Campitelli   Percussion,Drums,Hand Clapping,Electronic Drums
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
John Cuniberti   Percussion,Tambourine
Nathan East   Bass
Anton Fig   Drums
Mike Fraser   Hand Clapping
Manu Katché   Drums
Jonathan Mover   Percussion,Drums
Pat Thrall   Bass
Eric Valentine   Piano
Eric Caudieux   Bass,Keyboards
Bongo Bob Smith   Percussion,Drums
Elk Thunder   Percussion
Mike Manning   Hand Clapping

Technical Credits

Joe Satriani   Composer,Programming,Producer,Liner Notes,Executive Producer
David Coleman   Art Direction
John Cuniberti   Producer
Mike Fraser   Producer,Engineer
Glyn Johns   Producer
Andy Johns   Producer
Kevin Shirley   Additional Production
Mick Brigden   Executive Producer
Eric Caudieux   Programming,Producer
Bongo Bob Smith   drum programming,Sound Design
Leann Mueller   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews