The Essential Pansy Division

The Essential Pansy Division

by Pansy Division

CD(Bonus DVD)

$18.90 $18.99 Save 0% Current price is $18.9, Original price is $18.99. You Save 0%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The Essential Pansy Division

To commemorate their 15th year together as a band, queercore rockers Pansy Division issued their eighth full-length album, The Essential Pansy Division. As with any greatest-hits type of compilation, there will no doubt be some fan debate as to which songs should or should not have been included. Though with 30 audio tracks (and 15 additional video and live clips included on an accompanying DVD), the band has put together a rather representative look of its career onto one disc. Drawing pretty equally from all of their albums, though not as much from the B-sides- and singles-oriented Pile Up and More Lovin' from Our Oven, Pansy Division showcase exactly what they're good at -- playing tight, catchy pop-punk songs with clever lyrics that ooze with upfront and hilarious sexual references. Straightforward songs like "I'm Gonna Be a Slut," "Fem in a Black Leather Jacket," "Groovy Underwear," "Anthem," and "Negative Queen" showcase the band's humor, while "I Really Wanted You," "Deep Water," and "Sweet Insecurity" delve deeper into the more serious side of the band's persona. Covers are noticeably missing (along with some great songs like the entertaining "Fluffy City"), but all in all, The Essential Pansy Division is a nice recap for longtime fans who still want to add to their collection, but more so as the starter kit for those just discovering these witty and energetic punks.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/24/2006
Label: Alternative Tentacle
UPC: 0721616034325
catalogNumber: 343
Rank: 136377

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pansy Division   Primary Artist
Chris Xefos   Keyboards
Kirk Garrison   Trumpet
Jon Ginoli   Guitar,Vocals
Chris Freeman   Bass,Drums,Vocals
Dustin Donaldson   Drums
Chris Bowe   Bass
Danny Cao   Trumpet
Sally Schlosstein   Drums
Shatonia   Guitar
John Pollock   Banjo
Patrick Hawley   Drums
Patrick Goodwin   Guitar,Vocals
Doug Hilsinger   Pedal Steel Guitar
Luis Illades   Drums
Lillian Hart   Drums

Technical Credits

Steve Albini   Engineer
Jim Marcus   Engineer
Chris Xefos   Producer
Fred Cirillo   Engineer
Jon Ginoli   Composer,Liner Notes,Song Notes
Chris Freeman   Composer
Kent Whitesell   Engineer
Richard Turtletaub   Cover Photo
Joe Logsdon   Engineer
Aaron Prellwitz   Engineer
Tim Daly   Engineer
Adrian Roberts   Art Direction
Anonymous Boy   Director
Neil Brock   Director
Ryan Rizzo   Director
Ronster   Director
Anjali Sundaram   Director

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews