The Essential Paul Simon

The Essential Paul Simon

by Paul Simon
4.5 4

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Essential Paul Simon

Released five years after Warner's last Paul Simon comp, the single-disc The Paul Simon Collection: On My Way, Don't Know Where I'm Goin', the double-disc The Essential Paul Simon is a full 17 tracks heftier than its predecessor and contains all but one of its 19 songs (MIA is the latter-day "Love," which only hardcore fans will recognize as from You're the One, and they're not quite the market for this set anyway). It's also slimmer than the 1993 box Paul Simon 1964/1993, which spanned three discs but also encompassed his '60s recordings with Art Garfunkel, plus a single the duo recorded as Tom & Jerry, along with selections from his solo debut, The Paul Simon Songbook -- it was ambitious, where this compilation is efficient, picking up after the parting of ways with Garfunkel and running straight through until 2006's Surprise. The sequencing isn't strictly chronological -- some songs are shuffled around for effect, with "Still Crazy After All These Years" closing the first, while "Take Me to the Mardi Gras" is cleverly followed by the zydeco stomp "That Was Your Mother" -- but it roughly divides into having the first disc devoted to the '70s and early '80s, the second devoted to Graceland and beyond. Some might argue that there's too heavy of a Graceland presence here -- a whopping six tracks, over half the album -- but it is his biggest album and functions as a nice transition between his better-known '70s hits and the more esoteric but frequently compelling work that he's done since. And, unlike The Paul Simon Collection, The Essential Paul Simon is designed to introduce fellow travelers to the interesting work he's done since Graceland, as the second disc emphasizes that quite greatly, and it does a good job of it, while also providing a good summary of his best-known (and much of his best) solo work.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/26/2007
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
UPC: 0093624997009
catalogNumber: 159292

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Simon   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,6-string Electric Bass,Guitar (Nylon String)
John Tropea   Electric Guitar
Milton Nascimento   Vocals
Naná Vasconcelos   Conga,gourd
Patti Austin   Background Vocals
Adrian Belew   Guitar,Synthesizer Guitar
J.J. Cale   Guitar
Linda Ronstadt   Vocals
Phoebe Snow   Vocals,Background Vocals
Michael Brecker   Saxophone
Ronnie Cuber   Baritone Saxophone,Bass Saxophone
Richard Davis   Acoustic Bass
Jon Faddis   Trumpet
Rob Mounsey   Synthesizer
David Sanborn   Saxophone
Marvin Stamm   Trumpet
Grady Tate   Drums
Pete Carr   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Giovanni Hidalgo   Conga
Alex Foster   Alto Saxophone
Incas   Flute,Percussion,Charango
Danny Rivera   Coro
Kim Wilson   Harmonica
Bob Cranshaw   Electric Bass
Airto Moreira   Percussion
Ademola Adepoju   Pedal Steel Guitar
Francisco Aguabella   Conga
Bobby Allende   Bongos,Cymbals
Robby Ameen   Drums
Mingo Araujo   Percussion,Conga,Go Go Bell
John Beal   Bass
Barry Beckett   Keyboards,Electric Piano
Karen Bernod   Background Vocals
Michael Boddicker   Synthesizer
Randy Brecker   Trumpet
Bobby Bright   Background Vocals
Anthony Carrillo   Bongos
Elolongue Mbango Catherine   Background Vocals
Tony Cedras   Keyboards
C.J. Chenier   Accordion
Kim Cissel   Trombone
Cissy Houston   Vocals
Richard Crooks   Drums
Ray de la Paz   Background Vocals
Don Elliott   Vibes
Dan Duggan   Hammered Dulcimer
Gordon Edwards   Bass
Jay Elfenbein   Vihuela
Brian Eno   electronics
Steve Gadd   Percussion,Drums
Alexander Gafa   Guitar
Eric Gale   Electric Guitar
Earl Gardner   Trumpet
Russell George   Bass
Florence Gnimagnon   Background Vocals
Morris Goldberg   Penny Whistle,Soloist
Myrna Lynn Gomila   Background Vocals
Winston Grennan   Drums
Paul Griffin   Piano
Jamey Haddad   Percussion
Juliet Haffner   Viola
Roger Hawkins   Drums
Oscar Hernandez   Synthesizer,Piano
Neville Hinds   Organ
David Hood   Bass
Anthony Jackson   Bass,Contrabass Guitar
Derrick James   Background Vocals
Kia Jeffries   Background Vocals
Jessy Dixon Singers   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Rev. Claude Jeter   Falsetto
Jimmy Johnson   Electric Guitar
Larry Knechtel   Piano
Abraham Laboriel   Bass
Denzel Laing   Percussion
Armand Sabal-Lecco   Bass
Jay Leonhart   Bass
Tony Levin   Bass
Jesse Levy   Cello
Charlotte Mbango   Background Vocals
Michael Mainieri   Marimbas,Vibes
Irvin "Marky" Markowitz   Trumpet
Hugh McCracken   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Sid McGinnis   Electric Guitar
Marcus Miller   Bass
Edgardo Miranda   cuatro
Victor Montanez   Drums
Isaac Mtshali   Drums
Youssou N'Dour   Percussion
Vincent Nguini   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Claves
Pino Palladino   Bass
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Dean Parks   Electric Guitar,Hi String
Greg Phillinganes   fender rhodes
Marc Quiñones   Conga,Timbales
Mark Rivera   Alto Saxophone
Sherman Robertson   Guitar
Stewart Rose   French Horn
Alan Rubin   Trumpet
Alton Rubin   Accordion,Drums
Felix Sabal-Lecco   Drums
Jimmy Sabater   Conga,cowbell
Nestor Sanchez   Background Vocals
Bobby Scott   Piano
John Selolwane   Guitar
Steve Shehan   Percussion
Valerie Simpson   Background Vocals
David Spinozza   Guitar
Richard Tee   Piano,fender rhodes
Assane Thaim   Percussion
Maxine Willard Waters   Background Vocals
Waters   Background Vocals
Oren Waters   Background Vocals
Nelson Gonzalez   Tres,Plenaro
Makhaya Mahlangu   Percussion
Renelie Stafford   Vocals
Julia Waters   Background Vocals
Ken Asher   Organ
Babacar Faye   Percussion
Johnny Hoyt   Saxophone
Forere Motloheloa   Accordion
Leonard Pickett   Tenor Saxophone
Rockin' Dopsie & the Cajun Twisters   Track Performer
Frankie Negron   Falsetto
Wallace Richardson   Guitar
Deidre Tuck   Vocals
Clifford Carter   Celeste,Keyboard Glockenspiel
Ray Vega   Trumpet,Soloist
Robin Dimaggio   Drums
Chris Eminizer   Tenor Saxophone
Chikapa "Ray" Phiri   Guitar
Oriente Lopez   Organ,Flute
Peter Gordon   French Horn
Marcia Butler   Oboe
Sean Pulley   Background Vocals
Teana Rodriguez   Background Vocals
DeWayne Snype   Background Vocals
Dionte Sutton   Background Vocals
Trent Sutton   Background Vocals
Renee Connell-Adams   Background Vocals
Ed Vasquez   Background Vocals
David "Piro" Rodríguez   Trumpet,Soloist
Wallace "Red Rat" Wilson   Rhythm Guitar
Joe Osborn   Bass
Lourdes Delgado   Saxophone
Adriana Simon   Vocals
Groupo Cultural OLODUM   Drums
Sidinho Moreira   Percussion,Conga,Bass Drums,Tambourine,Bottle
Bob James & Creations   Keyboards
Ralph McDonald   Percussion
David Rubin   Washboard
Sal Agron   Interviewee
David W. Bageron   Trombone
Michael Breacker   Saxophone,Soloist
Cyro Captista   Percussion
Felicite Fouda   Background Vocals
Lewis Michale Soloff   Trumpet
Mark Stewart   Banjo,Cello,Electric Guitar
Alonzo Johnson   Bass
Jackie Jackson   Bass

Technical Credits

Paul Simon   Composer,Producer
Brian Eno   Composer,Sonic Environment
Roy Halee   Producer
Marc Quiñones   Contributor
Phil Ramone   Producer
Paul Samwell-Smith   Producer
Joseph Shabalala   Composer
Russ Titelman   Producer
Lenny Waronker   Producer
Vusi Khumalo   Producer
Forere Motloheloa   Composer
Derek Walcott   Composer
Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section   Producer
Gabe Pressman   Interviewer
Ellen Wakayama   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews