The Essential Spiral: Ecology and Consciousness after 9/11

The Essential Spiral: Ecology and Consciousness after 9/11

by Ian Prattis




The terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001 changed the world, now an environment framed by fear, uncertainty, hatred and fanaticism. Wise teachings about the mind bring spiritual warriors to the fore, to champion peace, environmental care, and non-violent reconciliation. The skills and methods of cooling anger, of dealing with the terrorist within, of putting the breaks on anger's translation into deadly harm, are found in meditation traditions with practical down to earth exercises. Eco-psychology, traditional ecological knowledge, and globalization, are brought into a discussion of events that take the reader on a sweep of history, from Chief Seattle's speech of 1854 to the World Trade Organization, and beyond- to the Tobin Tax and the reconfiguration of our global order. This is a different kind of book about Ecology and Consciousness.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780761823612
Publisher: UPA
Publication date: 07/31/2002
Pages: 280
Product dimensions: 5.46(w) x 8.34(h) x 0.81(d)

About the Author

Ian Prattis is Professor of Anthropology and Religion, Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Preface Chapter 2 Violence, Leadership and Ethics in the 21st Century: Meditation I: Into the Future; Meditation II: Walking Meditation; Meditation III: Developing Compassion Chapter 3 The Art of Deep Listening: Meditation IV: Open Hearted Listening Chapter 4 Nutriments for the Spiritual Pilgrimage: Meditation V: Who are You?; Meditation VI: Letting Go of Cravings Chapter 5 Meditation for Gaia: Meditation VII: Meditation for Gaia; Meditation VIII: Peace on Earth Chapter 6 From Chief Seattle to Globalization: Postscript: Christmas Exams and Consciousness Chapter 7 At the Threshold: UNESCO's Manifesto 2000 Chapter 8 Guidelines to Recreate Our World: Meditation IX: SO HUM Meditation; Meditation X: Standing Like a Tree Chapter 9 Epilogue: The Merchant and the Diamond Chapter 10 Index Chapter 11 About the Author

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews