The Essential Willie Nelson

The Essential Willie Nelson

by Willie NelsonWillie Nelson


$16.02 $16.99 Save 6% Current price is $16.02, Original price is $16.99. You Save 6%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 22


Drawn largely from Willie Nelson's years on Columbia Records (1975–93), this double-CD retrospective arrives in time for the nonpareil singer-songwriter's 70th birthday and eloquently underscores the enduring majesty of his art. Of Disc 1's 22 songs, 10 predate the Columbia era, and some qualify as American monuments, including the original 1961 Bellaire single of "Night Life" and, from his 1962 debut album for Liberty, a jaw-dropping triumvirate of "Crazy," "Funny How Time Slips Away," and "Hello Walls." Of the few obscure tracks here, one of the most dramatic in concept and execution is the 1964 Monument single "I Never Cared for You," a foreboding, Spanish-tinged kiss-off ballad that finds Nelson baying at both the elements and his unfaithful woman. Otherwise, the set hits those bright spots that never sound dated: "Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain," "Whiskey River," a live version of "Stay a Little Longer," "Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground," "Shotgun Willie," and three standouts from Stardust, his collection of standards. Essential also spotlights several duets, including a couple with ol' Waylon Jennings (namely, "Mammas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys"); the beautiful, Grammy-winning "Mendocino County Line" with Lee Ann Womack; the ethereal "Pancho & Lefty" with Merle Haggard; and another south-of-the-border-flavored confessional, "Everywhere I Go," with Emmylou Harris. Nelson joins U2 on "Slow Dancing," a B-side from 1993, but it's Aerosmith's Steven Tyler who helps bring things to a fiery finish on a previously unreleased duet with the red-headed stranger, "One Time Too Many," an acoustic country ballad that mutates into blistering roadhouse rock. All in all, not a bad way to celebrate 70 years of this mortal coil.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/01/1995
Label: Rca
UPC: 0078636659022
catalogNumber: 66590
Rank: 91902


  1. Me and Paul
  2. Yesterday's Wine
  3. December Day
  4. Bloody Mary Morning
  5. Healing Hands of Time
  6. Darkness on the Face of the Earth
  7. Funny How Time Slips Away
  8. Family Bible
  9. My Own Peculiar Way
  10. Mr. Record Man
  11. I Gotta Get Drunk
  12. Hello Walls
  13. Sweet Memories
  14. Night Life
  15. Waltz Across Texas
  16. The Party's Over
  17. Some Other World
  18. Goin' Home
  19. Once More with Feeling
  20. Phases, Stages, Circles, Cycles and Scenes

Album Credits

Customer Reviews