The Fairy Fly

The Fairy Fly

by Lori R. Lopez

Hardcover(Borders & artistic details added.)

$35.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22

Overview

A Black Widow queen, a big bad Wolf Spider, and a Hit-Mantis are but a few of the obstacles for a spunky little spider who must find his way home through a strange land of giants in this witty fairytale fantasy for kids and adults. Transported out of his element into a realm of dangers and foes, Spider is aided by the insects and arachnids he befriends, but only he can see the Fairy Fly. Is she real or imagined? This whimsical novel about finding oneself while feeling small in a big world takes a step back and several steps downward to peep at humanity from below. At the same time, the story is an allegory of the human condition: life and death matters, war and peace, our everyday struggles on a tiny scale. Part humorous, part philosophical, at times poetic . . . it celebrates a love for animals, books and words. View the planet from a different angle as you take a spiderwalk through the door to adventure. This Illustrated Print Edition of THE FAIRY FLY features artwork by the author. THE FAIRY FLY won Best Published Y.A. SCIFI/FANTASY for 2013 at the San Diego Book Awards and was the Young Adult Winner in the 2014 Great Southwest Book Festival. The book received Second Place in Humor from the 2015 Royal Dragonfly Book Awards, among other honors.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781644750018
Publisher: Fairy Fly Entertainment
Publication date: 10/04/2018
Edition description: Borders & artistic details added.
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 8.00(w) x 10.00(h) x 0.69(d)

About the Author

Lori R. Lopez wears many hats, although at times she feels the hat is wearing her. An award-winning author of short stories, novels, novellas, verse, songs and more, she designs her own covers and illustrates nearly all of her books. When the mood strikes, she pens a humorously serious column called “Poetic Reflections” at Fairy Fly Entertainment, a website shared with her two talented sons Noél and Rafael. She grew up in Wisconsin and also lived in Hawaii, Florida, Spain, and Key West before settling in California. Vegetarian or vegan most of her life, Lori’s work is often quirky yet at times addresses more serious themes such as the rights of animals and children. Stories and verse have appeared in assorted publications including Weirdbook, The Horror Zine, Bewildering Stories, The Sirens Call, and numerous anthologies.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Fairy Fly 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Tania Staley for Readers' Favorite In The Fairy Fly, author Lori R. Lopez takes a look at some of the world’s smallest creatures. Lopez’s novel tells the story of Spider, a recently hatched jumper spider who is trying to find his way home. Spider was the smallest of his egg sac and the last to come out because of his fear of leaving the nest. Little did he know that his adventures were going to get even bigger and scarier. For Spider, finding a home that was safe and warm was important, and he thought he had found the perfect place. His home was dark and secure, closed off from the scary world, and soft, and it was also the pocket of a sweater that was soon going to take him far from home. When the owner of the sweater, the young boy whose home Spider lives in, takes his sweater to school, Spider finds himself in a strange, exciting, and dangerous new world. In his adventures, he encounters wonderful new friends, dangerous new foes, and the magical and mysterious Fairy Fly, and learns that the world is a grand place that demands to be explored.   Lori Lopez’s book, The Fairy Fly, is a wonderfully fanciful tale. Fans of books such as Charlotte’s Web and Stuart Little are sure to be intrigued by this tale, which celebrates the little things in life and how one being, no matter how small, can make a difference. It was Lopez’s unique dialogue that captured my imagination, however. Each creature had a unique voice, and the playfulness of characters, such as the Merry Mites, or the wise speeches of the Bookworm reminded me of the aura created in the works of Lewis Carroll. The book took just a little bit for me to get into, but by the end I was completely immersed in Spider’s world. My only concern was that at times it was difficult to get a clear view of setting, because of the smaller viewpoint of Spider. More tangible descriptions of setting would have made it easier to deduce where Spider was located, but it is my understanding that Lopez plans on making an illustrated version of this tale, which should help with this confusion. I highly recommend this tale for Young Adults and any who needs a reminder of just how wondrous our world really is. I hope to read more from Lori Lopez in the future.