The Far Haven Treasury: A Windflower Saga Collection

The Far Haven Treasury: A Windflower Saga Collection

by Aleksandra Layland




GOLD MEDAL in the Fiction Romance Category of the 2017 Florida Authors and Publishers Association Presidents Book Awards.

An adventure-filled and uplifting collection that takes place in a late medieval-style world at the beginning of its industrial age. It includes the novel "Far Haven: A Quest for Certitude. A Fight for Justice." (Part III of the epic fantasy Windflower Saga trilogy) along with three related novellas ("Albina," "Courage of Ansgar," and the second half of "Swords of Ansgar") which continue the story of the noble mixed-race Ansgar family of Kimbria into the modern age of their world. "Far Haven" follows the life of Lady Keridwen Ulani of Ansgar, starting with her first marriage as a teenager. After she is widowed and the adoptive mother of six children, she agrees to help her distant cousins in far Pomerania by providing a haven for the son of a lawyer who once helped them. Tribune Loris Kennet arrives in Kimbria sick in body, mind, and spirit; dishonored and stripped of rank for a transgression he can't even remember; and the unknowing victim of a conspiracy reaching to the highest levels in his kingdom. Married in name only to Keridwen to allow him to live at her home for several years, if necessary, he keeps to himself at first, troubled by screams in the nightmares that assail his sleep. Eventually, he and Keridwen become friends and she leads him to the help he needs to heal both in body and in mind. But when he wants more of their relationship than friendship, she will not agree, not until he clears his name of dishonor. That begins a chase of pirates at sea and the struggle to bring them to justice for the crimes of murder, slavery, and the trafficking of innocent women and children.
In the novella "Albina," we follow the life of Loris and Keridwen's mixed-race daughter as she grows into young womanhood and embarks on travels and adventures of her own. "Albina" is written to appeal to Young and New Adults as well, following the heroine from her childhood to university studies, romance, and marriage. During one of her travels, Albina spends a year living in the homelands of the indigenous Kimbrii people and fully encounters her mixed-race heritage. The romance is sweet, clean, and tender as Albina comes to grips with her attraction to two very different men.
"Courage of Ansgar" is a romantic adventure story that can also appeal to New Adults as well. Kerys of Ansgar, a soon-to-be university graduate, is tasked, along with three other young women of noble birth, to participate in a week of events at the Palace intended to introduce them to the new monarch. The King is a bachelor and needs a Queen Consort quickly, if he can find one; but he isn't willing to marry unless he feels a true attraction and has sworn to take the throne a bachelor if he doesn't. Kerys wants nothing to do with an arranged marriage and does everything possible to avoid the King's attentions, often leaving him to the other candidates. Besides, she's far more attracted to the King's cousin, a captain in the Palace Guards. But Kerys is in for a surprise; one she could never have prepared for.
The second half of "Swords of Ansgar" follows a modern descendant in the Ansgar line. Kimbria Ke'ilani is the only daughter of the Queen of Kimbria. She's also a world class athlete, a fencer and master of the unique Helvellyn sword. When she receives an offer to travel to Helvellyn Island and join the small community there to study to become a training master, her heart is torn. It comes with the requirement that she marry, even if in name only, the handsome, widowed training master who brings her the invitation. Life becomes all the more complicated when she and the training master foil the workings of a crime ring and become targets for assassination.

Follow the mixed-race descendants of Brother Ansgar and Chief Keholani as they face injustice, racism, intolerance, and even a world at war with courage, strength, and faith.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781544196282
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 03/02/2017
Pages: 398
Product dimensions: 8.00(w) x 10.00(h) x 0.82(d)

About the Author

Aleksandra Layland is a retired civil engineer and federal civil servant who worked primarily for the United States Air Force as a senior installation engineering manager responsible for buildings, airfields, infrastructure, fire protection, and emergency preparedness. She also served as a Peace Corps Volunteer in the Western Caroline Islands where she helped build school classrooms and cafeterias, low income housing, and simple village water distribution systems.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews