The Fat of the Land [Expanded Edition]

The Fat of the Land [Expanded Edition]

by The Prodigy


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Fat of the Land [Expanded Edition]

Few albums were as eagerly anticipated as The Fat of the Land, the Prodigy's long-awaited follow-up to Music for the Jilted Generation. By the time of its release, the group had two number one British singles with "Firestarter" and "Breathe," and had begun to make inroads in America. The Fat of the Land was touted as the album that would bring electronica/techno to a world-wide audience. (Of course, in Britain, the group already had a staggeringly large following that was breathlessly awaiting the album.) The Fat of the Land falls short of masterpiece status, but that isn't because it doesn't deliver. Instead, it delivers exactly what anyone would expect: intense hip-hop-derived rhythms, imaginatively reconstructed samples, and meaningless shouted lyrics from Keith Flint and Maxim. Half of the album does sound quite similar to "Firestarter," especially when Flint is singing. Granted, Liam Howlett is an inventive producer, and he can make empty songs like "Smack My Bitch Up" and "Serial Thrilla" kick with a visceral power, but he is at his best on the funky hip-hop of "Diesel Power" (which is driven by an excellent Kool Keith rap) and "Funky Shit," as well as the mind-bending neo-psychedelia of "Narayan" (featuring guest vocals by Crispian Mills of Kula Shaker), and the blood-curdling cover of L7's "Fuel My Fire," which features vocals by Republica's Saffron. All those guest vocalists mean something -- Howlett is at his best when he's writing for himself or others, not his group's own vocalists. "Firestarter" and all of its rewrites capture the fire of the Prodigy at their peak, and the remaining songs have imagination that give the album weight. The Fat of the Land doesn't have quite enough depth or variety to qualify as a flat-out masterpiece, but what it does have to offer is damn good. [The Expanded Edition, released in 2012 on the 15th anniversary of its original release, adds six contemporary remixes, including "Breathe" by Zeds Dead and "Smack My Bitch Up" by Major Lazer.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/04/2012
Label: Xl Recordings
UPC: 0634904058623
catalogNumber: 40586

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Prodigy   Primary Artist
Saffron   Vocals
Kool Keith   Vocals
Crispian Mills   Vocals
Neil McLellan   Vocals
Keith Flint   Vocals
Shahin Bada   Vocals
Jim Davies   Guitar

Technical Credits

Liam Howlett   Art Direction
Alex Jenkins   Art Direction
Keith Flint   Composer
Konrad Wothe   Cover Photo
Lou Smith   Inside Photo
T. Horn   Composer
Glitch Mob   Remixing,Additional Production
Major Lazer   Remixing,Additional Production
T. Randolph   Composer
N. Miller   Composer
DJ Sparks   Composer
Nik Roos   Remixing,Additional Production
Martijn Van Sonderen   Remixing,Additional Production
Thijs De Vlieger   Remixing,Additional Production
A. Dudley   Composer
P. Morley   Composer
K. Thornton   Composer
K. Flint   Composer
Alvin Risk   Remixing,Additional Production
Zeds Dead   Remixing,Additional Production
L. Howlett   Composer,Producer
Baauer   Remixing,Additional Production
J. Jeczalik   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews