The Fire Kimono (Sano Ichiro Series #13)

The Fire Kimono (Sano Ichiro Series #13)

by Laura Joh Rowland
5.0 1

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Fire Kimono (Sano Ichiro Series #13) by Laura Joh Rowland

Japan, March 1700. Near a Shinto shrine in the hills, a windstorm knocks down a tree to uncover a human skeleton, long buried and forgotten. Meanwhile, in the nearby city of Edo, troops ambush and attack Lady Reiko, the wife of Sano Ichiro, the samurai detective who has risen to power and influence in the shogun's court. The troops who attacked Reiko appear to belong to Sano's fiercest enemy, Lord Matsudaira, who denies all responsibility. But if the rivals are not to blame for each other's misfortune, who is?

Just as Sano's strife with Matsudaira begins to escalate to the brink of war, the shogun orders Sano to investigate the origins of the mysterious skeleton, buried with swords that identify it as belonging to the shogun's cousin, who disappeared forty years earlier on the night that a cursed kimono touched off a fire that nearly destroyed the city.

Suddenly, Sano and Reiko are forced to confront dangerous, long-buried secrets that expose Sano's own mother as the possible culprit. The shogun gives Sano and Reiko just three days to clear her name—or risk losing not only their position at court but their families' lives.

The Fire Kimono is another dazzling historical mystery from Laura Joh Rowland.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781429945318
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 11/11/2008
Series: Sano Ichiro Series , #13
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 202,465
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Laura Joh Rowland, the granddaughter of Chinese and Korean immigrants, was educated at the University of Michigan and now lives in New Orleans with her husband. The Fire Kimono is the thirteenth novel in her acclaimed series of thrillers featuring Sano Ichiro.
LAURA JOH ROWLAND is the author of the Sano Ichiro mysteries (Shinju, Bundori, and The Way of the Traitor), which have twice been named Best Mysteries of the Year by Publishers Weekly. She lived through a natural disaster when Hurricane Katrina nearly destroyed her house in New Orleans, and now lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Fire Kimono (Sano Ichiro Series #13) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Steveb624 More than 1 year ago
I have been a big fan of the Sano Ichiro series. My only problem is that when I start one of these books, I get nothing else done. I have been to Japan (when I was in the Army)and the places described are historically accurate. I think the author has a wonderful story telling ability. I would recommend that the reader start with the first book (Shinju)to get the basics of the series. I bought the first book for a dollar at the bargain book store, and have bought all the others at B & N.