The First Twenty Steps

The First Twenty Steps

by Michael Smith


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, May 28


Just released from six years in prison, unsure how to meet basic needs, Harry finds a kindred spirit in Roberta, in thrall to a depraved motorcycle gang. But the passive-aggressive leader of the Cerberean Knights leads them into a major crime this evening as he seeks to pay back favors from the corrupt city council of One-West. As the motorcycle attack on the Dataflux computer building turns terrifying and surreal, Harry and Roberta find themselves outgunned by another biker gang belonging to a mysterious billionaire who intervenes to protect his secret hyperspatial supercomputer.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781301121526
Publisher: Sortmind Press
Publication date: 09/08/2016
Pages: 94
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.23(d)

About the Author

Michael D. Smith was raised in the Northeast and the Chicago area, then moved to Texas to attend Rice University, where he began developing as a writer and visual artist. The first five novels in his Jack Commer science fiction series are available from Double Dragon Publishing: The Martian Marauders (2012); Jack Commer, Supreme Commander (2012), Nonprofit Chronowar (2013), Collapse and Delusion (2016), and The Wounded Frontier (2018). The sixth book in the series, The SolGrid Rebellion, is forthcoming from Double Dragon. In 2015, Class Act Books published his dystopian, black comedy novel CommWealth and Sortmind Press published his literary novel The Soul Institute. At, Smith explores art and writing processes, and his web site,, contains further examples of his writing and art.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The First Twenty Steps 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago