The Flag: The Story of Revd David Railton MC and the Tomb of the Unknown Warrior

The Flag: The Story of Revd David Railton MC and the Tomb of the Unknown Warrior

by Andrew Richards


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Reverend David Railton MC served as a chaplain on the Western Front during World War I. Attached to three divisions between 1916 and 1918, Railton supported the soldiers in their worst moments; he buried the fallen, comforted the wounded, wrote to the families of the missing and killed, and helped the survivors to remember and mark the loss of their comrades so that they were able to carry on. He was with his men at many battles, including High Wood, the Aisne, Passchendaele; he received the Military Cross for rescuing an officer and two men under heavy fire on the Somme.

It was Railton’s idea to bring home the body of an unidentified fallen comrade from the battlefields to be buried in Westminster Abbey, and on Armistice Day 1920, he was there in the Abbey as the Unknown Warrior was laid to rest with full honors.

Although suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, he returned to work as a parish priest in Margate, where he took particular interest in supporting ex-servicemen who had returned home to the aftermath of a terrible war and crippling unemployment.

While the story of the Tomb of the Unknown Warrior has been told before, this is the first book to explore David Railton’s life and war, and of ‘the padre’s flag’ he used as an altar cloth and shroud throughout the war. The flag was consecrated a year after the burial of the Unknown Warrior and hangs in Westminster Abbey to this day.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781612004471
Publisher: Casemate UK
Publication date: 12/14/2017
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 8.50(w) x 4.80(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Andrew Richards served 22 years with the Household Cavalry. During his last years of service, he graduated from the Open University with a Bachelor of Arts degree with Honours in Humanities with History and Classical Studies. Since retiring from the Army, he has written both fiction and non-fiction titles. He lives in New York with his wife and children.

Table of Contents

Prologue – 1: Sleepless Nights – 2: Early Days in France – 3: Vimy Ridge – 4: The Graveyards – 5: Military Cross – 6: Winter of Death – 7: Private Blakemore – 8: The Quiet Sector – 9: Back to Blighty – 10: It’s Now or Never – 11: The Unknown Warrior – 12: Hanging the Flag – 13: Going Home

Customer Reviews