The Foley Room [Bonus DVD]

The Foley Room [Bonus DVD]

by Amon Tobin


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Foley Room [Bonus DVD]

Perhaps tiring of the invisible soundtracks playing in his head, Amon Tobin delivered a video-game soundtrack Chaos Theory: Splinter Cell 3 in 2005 and then hit the streets and studios, with microphones in tow, to produce 2007's Foley Room, an exercise in "field" recording. ("Foley rooms" are, apparently, the sound-effects chambers used by those in film.) Of course, anyone expecting crickets and hollers will be on unfamiliar ground, but those who are already aware of Tobin's penchant for spacious productions and sounds previously unheard in nature will know exactly what to expect. His stated aim here was to bridge the divide "between music that was based purely on sound design and tunes that were written to physically move people." But that's nothing new for him -- since the beginning of his career, he's been one of the best producers at manipulating found sounds into more-or-less danceable songs. Helping him on his quest is a large cast of collaborators, including Kronos Quartet, harpist Sarah Page, and Stefan Schneider of Music A.M. and To Rococo Rot. The music is suitably impressive, and shows -- as it should -- a far wider range of moods and textures than Tobin's work in the past. With good reason, the most adventurous tracks here ("Horsefish" and "Big Furry Head") are also the best, showing Tobin stretching himself beyond the usual electronica brainmelt into more progressive territory. [A Ninja Tune edition with a bonus DVD includes about 20 minutes of footage showing Tobin and crew gathering their sounds.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/06/2007
Label: Ninja Tune
UPC: 5021392460222
catalogNumber: 121

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Amon Tobin   Primary Artist
David Harrington   Track Performer
John Sherba   Track Performer
Stefan Schneider   Musician
Patrick Watson   Musician
Simon Angell   Musician
Evan Cranley   Musician
Leon Kingstone   Musician
Pietro Amato   Musician
Norsola Johnson   Musician
Jeffrey Zeigler   Track Performer
Ryhna Thompson   Musician
Vid Cousins   Musician
Hank Dull   Track Performer
Paolo Kapunan   Musician
Kevin Sawka   Musician
John Usher   Musician

Technical Credits

Amon Tobin   Composer,Producer
Stefan Schneider   Engineer
Vid Cousins   Field Recording
Kevin Sawka   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews