The Folk Hits Collection

The Folk Hits Collection

by The Highwaymen


$11.88 $13.99 Save 15% Current price is $11.88, Original price is $13.99. You Save 15%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 21

Product Details

Release Date: 10/30/2007
Label: Varese Sarabande
UPC: 0030206684728
catalogNumber: 066847
Rank: 64986

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Highwaymen   Primary Artist
Gil Robbins   Bass,Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Bobby Burnett   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Steve Butts   Banjo,Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Chan Daniels   Guitar,Vocals,Charango,Group Member
Steve Trott   Guitar,Mandolin,Vocals,Group Member
Johann Helton   Bass,Group Member

Technical Credits

Lead Belly   Composer
Hamilton Camp   Composer
Bob Gibson   Composer
Woody Guthrie   Composer
Tom Paxton   Composer
Don Costa   Producer
Bernie Krause   Producer
Huddie Ledbetter   Composer
Cary E. Mansfield   Producer
Milton Okun   Producer
Nick Perito   Producer
Steve Butts   Arranger,Adaptation
Chan Daniels   Producer
Bill Pitzonka   Art Direction
Marty Wekser   Producer
Josef Marais   Composer
Larry Zwisohn   Producer,Liner Notes
Leo Maguire   Composer
Bob Barron   Composer
Burt Long   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Folk Hits Collection 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Highwaymen were one of the most popular groups on the folk scene of the early 1960s. In addition to their recording of “Michael (Row The Boat Ashore)” (the best- selling folk music record of all time), they played a key role in the unearthing of an overlooked Leadbelly song, “Cotton Fields,” which later became a major hit for both Creedence Clearwater Revival and The Beach Boys. • This collection traces The Highwaymen from the early years of their very first recordings in 1961, to new songs released in 2007. • This “all-folk-music” album features The Highwaymen’s best-known songs as well as songs written by folk greats like Woody Guthrie (“The Sinking Of The Reuben James” and “Roll On Columbia, Roll On”), Tom Paxton (“Ramblin’ Boy”), and Bob Gibson (“Well, Well, Well”) among others. • The release also includes an unreleased bonus track from 1975 “Old Folk Music (With Some Sweet Rock ’N’ Roll).” • Many songs are appearing on CD for the first time. • Mastered from the original United Artists analog tapes.