The Forest

The Forest

by David Byrne


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Forest

In 1988, David Byrne collaborated with Robert Wilson on a "theatre piece" called The Forest that premiered in Berlin. (Byrne previously had worked with Wilson on The CIVIL warS, resulting in his album Music for The Knee Plays.) Byrne's orchestral score served as the basis for this more extended version, released three years later on his Luaka Bop label. The music is stately, near-classical, and like none of his other recordings except his Academy Award-winning music for The Last Emperor. Byrne always was an eclectic, and in a purely musical environment (there are a few stray lyrics, but nothing to speak of), he is free to move from the European classical tradition to those of Japan and the Middle East, among other places. Depending upon your point of view, the result is either a pleasant travelogue or a mess. Or maybe both.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/11/1991
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
UPC: 0075992658423
catalogNumber: 26584

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Byrne   Primary Artist,Vocals
Alan Broadbent   Piano
Sid Page   Violin
Robert Becker   Viola
Stewart Blumberg   Trumpet
Samuel Boghossian   Violin
Ernie Carlson   Trombone
Jon Clarke   Oboe
Larry Corbett   Cello
Randy Crenshaw   Vocals
Corin Curschellas   Vocals
Bernie Dresel   Percussion
Steve Durnin   French Horn
Jesse Ehrlich   Cello
Alan Estes   Percussion
Paul Fenton   Viola
James Getzoff   Violin
Linda Harmon   Vocals
Jimmie Haskell   Accordion
Scottie Haskell   Vocals
Alan Kaplan   Trombone
Jim Lacefield   Bass
Joy Lyle   Violin
Don Markese   Clarinet,Bass Clarinet
Malcolm McNabb   Trumpet
Dan Neufeld   Violin
Bobbi Page   Vocals
Michael Riessler   Clarinet,Saxophone
Jim Self   Tuba
David Shamban   Cello
Sid Sharp   Violin,Concert Master
Sarah Orme Weisz   Flute
Patricia S. Kindel   Bassoon
Sidney Sharp   Violin
Thomas Baumgartel   Horn,French Horn
Jeffry Bossin   Carillon
Klaus Burger   Tuba
Uwe Fussel   Bass Trombone
Marcus Honegger   Violin
Marcus Hufschmidt   Flute
Hitoshi Ishikaba   Violin,Concert Master
Geno Lechner   Vocals
Helmut Menzler   Cello
Ulrich Pfrötsch   Trombone
Chrisitian Pitius   Organ,Piano,Celeste
Robyn Schulkowsky   Percussion
Miriam Sosewitz   Flute
Joachim Steever   Double Bass
Frieder Steinle   Trumpet
Mechiel Vandenbrink   Oboe,Cor anglais
Robert Zollitsch   Zither
Samuel Thiel   Horn,French Horn
John A. Reynolds   French Horn
Teodoro Anzellotti   Accordion
Susann Widmer   Violin
Lorin Levee   Clarinet
Camilla Hoitenga   Flute
Johannes Beer   Drums

Technical Credits

David Byrne   Liner Notes,Art Direction
Andy Waterman   Engineer
Mark Wolfson   Engineer
Robin Lynch   Art Direction
John Taylor Dismukes   Artwork
Brenda Dunlap   Audio Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews