The Forgotten Family of Liverpool: A gritty postwar family saga novel that will break your heart

The Forgotten Family of Liverpool: A gritty postwar family saga novel that will break your heart

by Pam Howes

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

The war is over – but are their troubles just beginning?
It’s 1951 and rationing is finally coming to an end. But while Liverpool is recovering from the ferocity of war, a family is about to be torn apart…

Dora Rodgers is adjusting to a new life in Liverpool with her young daughters Carol and Jackie. After the fear of the war years and a difficult break up with her husband Joe, Dora is finally building a future with her children.

But then an unexpected knock at the door rips her family in two.

To Dora’s horror, Carol is taken away by a welfare officer to live with Joe. She is determined to fight for her child, but when a tragic accident leaves her mother in hospital, and shocking news from Joe breaks her heart again, she struggles to cope.

With her family in pieces and her marriage over for good, will Dora ever manage to get her daughter Carol home where she belongs?

The Forgotten Family of Liverpool is a brave and tear-jerking story of one woman’s quest to protect her family. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Annie Murray and Kitty Neale.

Read what everyone’s saying about The Forgotten Family of Liverpool:
A fantastic story… Anyone who likes a good family saga will absolutely love this book.’ I Love Reading, 5 stars

WOW what a fabulous book!!… Loads of laughter and tears… A book you will not be able to put down until you finish it, for that reason I had sleepless nights!! I can’t recommend it highly enough.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Pam has written a fabulous sequel which I simply couldn’t put down… I loved every minute of it.A Writer’s Journey, 5 stars

‘Beautifully written… Tugs at your heartstrings, so have your tissues ready! I can’t wait until the next one is out!!Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

‘I've read heaps of saga books in the last few years… this series really stands out from all the rest… I enjoyed every bit of this emotional, honest, gritty, raw and endearing story.’ Shaz’s Book Blog, 4 stars

A real page-turner that will test your emotions.Ali the Dragon Slayer, 5 stars

Honestly one of the best family sagas I have ever read.Goodreads reviewer

I really loved this story.Books from Dusk Till Dawn, 5 stars

I loved this book.Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Pam Howes has a fantastic knack of bringing her characters to life… This book was one I just didn’t want to put down until I’d finished it.Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Loved this book and thoroughly recommend it. Fantastic characters and a book which I enjoyed from the first page.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘I read a lot of family sagas but this is my first by this author, but definitely won’t be the last! Really enjoyed it, great writing!Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786811905
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication date: 07/26/2017
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 285,711
File size: 555 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Forgotten Family of Liverpool: A gritty postwar family saga novel that will break your heart 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
The Forgotten Family of Liverpool by Pam Howes is the second installment in The Mersey Trilogy. The story starts in June of 1952. Dora Rodgers is a dressmaker in Liverpool, England living with her two daughters, Carol and Jackie. She has recently separated from her husband, Joe after he had an affair with Ivy Bennett. Ivy and Joe work at the Royal Ordnance Factory which provides the house Dora is living in with the girls. One afternoon there is a knock at the door and Dora opens it to find a Mr. Oliver from Department of Children’s Welfare. They have received a complaint about Carol being neglected and that her behavior has deteriorated. Mr. Oliver is removing Carol from Dora’s care and into Joe’s. Dora is not allowed any contact with Carol. Dora is determined to fight for her daughter but circumstances work against her. Dora moves forward with her life while working to improve her circumstances and get Carol returned to her care. But Dora’s journey along life’s highway will be filled with hairpin curves, potholes and speed bumps. See how Dora fares in The Forgotten Family of Liverpool. The Forgotten Family of Liverpool is well-written and has a nice, steady pace. The characters and their situations are realistic. I could easily put myself into Dora’s shoes (not Ivy’s though). It is an emotional story that draws readers into the lives of the Rodgers’ family. While this is the second story in The Mersey Trilogy, The Forgotten Family of Liverpool can be read alone. I did not have the pleasure of reading The Lost Daughter of Liverpool, and I had no problem. Readers are brought up-to-date on what has occurred in the characters’ lives. My rating for The Forgotten Family of Liverpool is 4.25 out of 5 stars (I liked this story). The book does contain British slang and terminology. Most of the terms meanings (or American counterpart) can be discerned from the text. The Forgotten Family of Liverpool is a heartfelt story that will have you cheering for Dora and hoping for the worst to happen to Ivy. Fans of Donna Douglas, Rosie Clarke, and Nadine Dorries, will enjoy reading The Forgotten Family of Liverpool.
AliTheDragonSlayer More than 1 year ago
I have been looking forward to catching up with Dora and her family ever since I read The Lost Daughter of Liverpool a few months ago. We are back with the second in the trilogy The Forgotten Family of Liverpool. It was a pleasure to meet up with all the characters again just like popping next door for a cup of tea and a chin-wag. I would strongly suggest reading these books on order because you won’t want to miss the foundation of the story. After much drama, tension and tragedy previously, Dora, Joe and the girls, Carol and Jackie are now in the 1950’s, post war and trying to get on with life. Liverpool is still poor, work is scarce but community spirit lives on. Dora is still estranged from Jack which is a shame because they are blatantly meant to be together, Dora’s Mam and brother Frank still feature highly and unfortunately so does snake in the grass Ivy. I loathe and detest that woman but she seems intent on causing trouble still. She is the kind of character that I could cheerfully slap but she adds a certain something to the plot! I really enjoyed the day to day gossip and antics of these folk. Particularly liked the attention to detail about the Queen’s coronation and the excitement of having a television that the whole street would gather round to watch and the bad picture reception .. I have heard that so many times from my older family members it was like being there. While life seems overly cruel for Dora she certainly has more than her fair share of bad karma it still makes for an absorbing read and I love embarking on the saga knowing I will be fully immersed in their world for the duration. A real page turner that will test your emotions .. I’m looking forward to the next book already. Thanks to Pam, Bookouture and Netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.