The Frog Who Croaked (Platypus Police Squad Series #1)

The Frog Who Croaked (Platypus Police Squad Series #1)

by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
4.0 12

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Frog Who Croaked (Platypus Police Squad Series #1) by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked is the first in a series of zany, action-packed middle-grade mysteries featuring platypus police detectives Rick Zengo and Corey O’Malley.
 
When a call comes in about a crime down at the docks involving a missing schoolteacher and a duffle bag full of illegal fish, Zengo and O’Malley are going to have to learn to set their differences aside if they want to get to the bottom of this. Especially when the clues all point to Frank Pandini Jr., Kallamazoo’s first son and its most powerful, well-respected businessman.
 
Fans of Adam Rex, Jon Scieszka, and Jarrett J. Krosoczka’s own Lunch Lady graphic novels will flip for Jarrett’s new series of illustrated middle-grade novels.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062071651
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/07/2013
Series: Platypus Police Squad Series , #1
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 592,357
Lexile: 700L (what's this?)
File size: 9 MB
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Jarrett J. Krosoczka is the author and illustrator of the Lunch Lady graphic novel series, a two-time winner of the Children's Choice Book Award, as well as many picture books. He can be heard on "The Book Report with JJK," his radio segment on SiriusXM's Kids Place Live. Jarrett lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with his wife, two daughters, and their pug, Ralph Macchio.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Frog Who Croaked 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a heartwarming tale of a platypus on a police squad, and his quest to find the frog who croaked. This book was an emotional roller coaster; i found my self laughing out loud, covering my mouth in surprise, and even wiping few tears along the way. It has been too long since i have read such a heart wrenchingly beautiful story. Reading this is the equivilent of walking knee deep in glowing stars. Dreamlike.
This_Kid_Reviews_Books More than 1 year ago
Rick Zengo was excited. It was his first day for his new job. Zengo was going to be joining Kalamazoo City’s police force, the Platypus Police Squad (PPS for short). He spilled some hot chocolate on his partner in the first hour. On the second hour, they get a case about an illegal fish exchange gone wrong. But, that’s not important. Nope, not at all. We’re talking about Zengo’s first hour at work. So… He spilled some hot chocolate on his grumpy (but kindly) partner, Corey O’Malley, and they both got made fun of by two over-confident platypi detectives (can someone lend a helping mouse? ;) Platypi or platypuses?). It was a perfectly normal hour. Nothing out of the ordinary. No wondering if the local billionaire panda is behind the fish exchange. No fretting over where the school professor was who apparently disappeared at the fish exchange. Not a minute spent over worrying that a night club owned by the billionaire panda is behind the illegal fish market. No pondering how many hot dogs Corey O’Malley can eat at a time. Nope. None of that. Now, on the other hand, about that second hour… THIS WAS HILARIOUS!!! The title is a wonderfully done pun and a marvelous hooker! The book was well done and was fun to read. I read it in one day. Mr. Krosoczkais a great author who has a way of creating a wacky world that pulls you in and only lets you out when the mystery has been solved. Detective Rick Zengo is a great guy, er… platypus… who tries to do the best he can, even if he messes up sometimes. I love all the goofy characters in the book. This is a fun book! I already read Book 2 (see my review HERE) which prompted me to go back and read book 1. I am glad I did (and obviously you don’t have to read the books in order to enjoy them!)! I am already waiting for the third book… yup still waiting… …someone please tell Mr. Krosoczka I’m waiting… *NOTE I gor a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so funny
book4children More than 1 year ago
I read this book out loud to my kids. We read a couple of chapters each night, and my oldest (6) always begged for more. She even has a PPS poster above her bed. In truth, I expected this book to be funny. Call me crazy, but when you stick a weird looking animal into a police uniform and arm him with a boomerang, I expect a few jokes along the way. The book wasn't funny—at least, not in a laugh out loud kind of way. I was disappointed with that at first, but that feeling soon ebbed away. It was a legitimate detective mystery for kids! It was like a Law and Order episode starring platypuses and pandas. It was a real police drama, complete with a missing professor, an illegal fish selling scandal, and some intense chase-down-the-bad-guy scenes. When we got to the last 50 pages or so, my kids wouldn't let me stop reading even though it was WAY past their bedtime. So we finished it off, then analyzed all the characters and discussed who did what and who the bad guy really was and what might happen in book 2. So as you can see, it's not a bad thing that the book wasn't funny. My kids loved it, I liked it, and we all plan on diving into the second book tomorrow. On a side note, the author also illustrated oodles of black and white pictures for the interior. His artwork is fantastic and gives the book a little something extra. Content: Clean
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My son absolutely loved this book and keeps asking when the new one is coming out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really thought this book was really good i love this book i hope they make the next one fast same thing with whole rest of the series again totaly AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME totaly awesome Sjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsjsksksjsksksjsjsksksksjsjksjsjsjsjsjsjsksksksksksjskskksksksmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmjmmmmmmmmmmmjssjjsjsjsjsjjsjsksjsksjsksjsksjsksjakajskajakjakajakajajskajakakakajjssjjjhhhhhhhshshqsbbsbsbgsggshggshghhhghghhhhggghgggusgsgsgsgsgsggssgsgsgsggsgsgsgsggsgsggsag
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fearry hand not true at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I only read it because people liked it annd it is a blue bonnet book for 2015. Neptune project, harry potter and percy jackson(please anything but da movie) are better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you read this book tell me what it is about please!!!...