The Fundamentals of Hogan

The Fundamentals of Hogan

by David Leadbetter, Lorne Rubenstein
5.0 2


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Fundamentals of Hogan by David Leadbetter, Lorne Rubenstein

More than a half century after he began his professional career, Ben Hogan is still considered the purest striker of a golf ball in the history of the game. His was a swing honed to perfection, and teaching professionals agree that Hogan's technique is the perfect platform on which golfers of all skill levels can build a fundamental understanding of golf. Unfortunately, photographs of Hogan's full swing and detailed close-ups of his grip and positioning have never been available for analysis. Instructors from around the world have always begun with a serious handicap when explaining to their students how a man of average stature could generate exceptional power and control from tee to green.
Now, thanks to the newly discovered critical photography featured in this book, the mysteries of Ben Hogan's form are revealed.

One vital characteristic of David Leadbetter's teaching philosophy, which has made him the world's #1 teacher, is his ability to translate very difficult swing concepts into easy-to-understand language. When the lost photographs from Hogan's seminal instructional manual, Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf, were discovered by the Hogan estate, David Leadbetter was the immediate and perfect choice to craft the quintessential instruction book for today's golfer, based on the Hogan form. By combining his exceptional skills as a communicator and his encyclopedic knowledge of the mechanics of golf, Leadbetter uses these remarkable images of the master at work to demonstrate the basic techniques of golf.

The result is The Fundamentals of Hogan, the one book that all golfers who dream of breaking 80 need to have in their libraries. Golf's #1 professional instructor translates Ben Hogan's fundamentals for players of all skill levels

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780771078514
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart Ltd.
Publication date: 03/09/2004
Pages: 144
Product dimensions: 7.68(w) x 9.67(h) x 0.36(d)

About the Author

Voted golf's #1 instructor by Golf Digest and chosen by Golf World as one of the top ten golf teachers of the twentieth century (along with Harvey Penick and Ben Hogan), David Leadbetter's long list of students has included Ernie Els, Greg Norman, Nick Price, Nick Faldo, David Frost, and Bernhard Langer. In addition to establishing sixteen golf academies around the world, he has written five books that have sold over a million copies, and has produced seven instructional videos. David also frequently appears on the Golf Channel and in Golf Digest, where he is a senior instructional editor.

Ben Hogan began his professional career at the age of nineteen in 1931. After a tour of duty in the army during World War II, Hogan returned to the fairways and won his first major, the PGA Championship, in 1946. A near-fatal car accident shattered both of his legs in 1949, but through an intense rehabilitation process and legendary practice sessions that became the basis of his instructional philosophy, Hogan was back on tour within a year and went on to win six more major championships. In 1953 he became the first player to win the British Open, the Masters, and the U.S. Open all in the same year. Ben Hogan is universally accepted as one of the finest players to ever play the game.

Lorne Rubenstein is an award-winning journalist who has written a golf column since 1980 for the Toronto Globe and Mail, Canada's national newspaper. He has written for Golf Magazine, Golf Digest, Golf Journal, Links Magazine, and Golf Monthly (U.K.). Lorne writes a column for Score Magazine and for Senior Golfer, and is a contributing editor to Travel & Leisure Golf. He also writes a weekly column at The Fundamentals of Hogan is the latest of many books he has authored or coauthored; the list includes Seasons in a Golfer's Life (with Jim Nelford, 1984), The Natural Golf Swing (with George Knudson, 1988), Links: An Insider's Tour Through the World of Golf (1990), Touring Prose: Writings on Golf (1993), and The Swing (with Nick Price, 1997).

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews