The Genius of Jane Austen: Her Love of Theatre and Why She Works in Hollywood

The Genius of Jane Austen: Her Love of Theatre and Why She Works in Hollywood

by Paula Byrne

Paperback

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Overview

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this updated edition of Paula Byrne's debut book includes new material that explores the history of Austen stage adaptations, why her books work so well on screen, and what that reveals about one of the world's most beloved authors.

Originally published by Bloomsbury Academic in 2003 as Jane Austen and the Theatre, Paula Byrne's first book was never made widely available in the US and is out of print today. An exploration of Austen's passion for the stage—she acted in amateur productions, frequently attended the theatre, and even scripted several early works in play form—it took a nuanced look at how powerfully her stories were influenced by theatrical comedy.

This updated edition features an introduction and a brand new chapter that delves into the long and lucrative history of Austen adaptations. The film world's love affair with Austen spans decades, from A.A. Milne's "Elizabeth Bennet," performed over the radio in 1944 to raise morale, to this year's Love and Friendship. Austen's work has proven so abidingly popular that these movies are more easily identifiable by lead actor than by title: the Emma Thompson Sense and Sensibility, the Carey Mulligan Northanger Abbey, the Laurence Olivier Pride and Prejudice. Byrne even takes a captivating detour into a multitude of successful spin-offs, including the phenomenally brilliant Clueless. And along the way, she overturns the notion of Jane Austen as a genteel, prim country mouse, demonstrating that Jane's enduring popularity in film, TV, and theater points to a woman of wild comedy and outrageous behavior.

For lovers of everything Jane Austen, as well as for a new generation discovering her for the first time, The Genius of Jane Austen demonstrates why this beloved author still resonates with readers and movie audiences today.


 

 

 

 

 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062674494
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/27/2017
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 1,262,152
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 2.00(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Paula Byrne is the critically acclaimed author of five biographies, including Belle: The Slave Daughter and the Lord Chief Justice, The Real Jane Austen, and Mad World: Evelyn Waugh and the Secrets of Brideshead. She lives in Oxford, England, with her husband, the academic and biographer Jonathan Bate.

Table of Contents

List of Illustrations ix

Foreword to the New Edition xi

Acknowledgements xv

Abbreviations xvii

Introduction 1

Part 1 The Novelist and the Theatre

1 Private Theatricals 9

2 The Professional Theatre 38

3 Plays and Actors 53

Part 2 The Theatre and the Novels

4 Early Works 81

5 From Play to Novel 99

6 Sense and Sensibility 116

7 Pride and Prejudice 147

8 Lovers' Vows 166

9 Mansfield Park 197

10 Emma 232

11 Why She Is a Hit in Hollywood 249

Notes 277

Bibliography 311

Index 323

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews