The Genuine, Imitation, Plastic Kidnapping

The Genuine, Imitation, Plastic Kidnapping

by Les Edgerton

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A mix of Cajun gumbo, a couple tablespoons of kinky sex and a dash of unusual New Orleans settings and you wind up with Les Edgerton's latest romp fest!

Pete Halliday is busted out of baseball for gambling and travels to New Orleans to make his fortune hustling. Five years later, he's deep in debt to a bookie and in cahoots with Tommy LeClerc, a Cajun with a tiny bit of Indian blood who considers himself a red man.

Tommy inveigles a reluctant Pete into one scheme after another, the latest a kidnapping scheme where they'll snatch the Cajun Mafia King and hold his amputated hand for some serious jack.

Along the way, Pete is double-crossed by Tommy and falls in love with part-time hooker and full-time waitress Cat Duplaisir. With both the Italian and Cajun mobs after them, a chase through Jazz Fest, a Tourette's outbreak in a black bar and other zany adventures, all seems lost.

Fans of Tim Dorsey's character Serge Storms, and readers who enjoy Christopher Moore and Carl Hiaasen, will enjoy this story.

Praise for THE GENUINE, IMITATION, PLASTIC KIDNAPPING:

"A hard-driving, relentless story with grab-you-by-the-throat characters." —Grant Blackwood, New York Times bestselling author

"The Genuine, Imitation, Plastic Kidnapping is not for the faint of heart, and that's just one of its selling points. If you like crime fiction that cracks wise while offering a peek into the darker recesses, this is the book for you." —Bill Fitzhugh, author of Pest Control and The Exterminators

"... a dark crime comedy that will have you laughing from page one. It crackles with manic energy and mad thrills. If you're looking for a different kind of edgy crime novel, this is the one to grab." —Bill Crider, author of the Sheriff Dan Rhodes Mysteries

"Les Edgerton's latest book is the real deal, and has everything to keep you turning the pages. It's a caper, full of fun and high-jinx, but it's also bitter-sweet, engendering a full range of emotions. You'll smile, you'll wince, you'll laugh out loud, and sometimes you'll even cringe, but you'll come away from the read feeling thoroughly satisfied and entertained. A terrific read." —Matt Hilton, author of the bestselling Joe Hunter thrillers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158474347
Publisher: Down & Out Books
Publication date: 09/30/2014
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 194
File size: 533 KB

About the Author

Les Edgerton has a bit of an unconventional background in that he's an ex-con having spent a bit over two years in prison for burglary, armed robbery, strong-armed robbery and possession with intent to sell. He's since taken a vow of poverty (became a writer) with 18 books in print.

Edgerton has been a semi-famous hairstylist (was an "A" national platform artist for Clairol, won 16 state hairstyling championships in Illinois, Michigan and Indiana, co-hosted a Cox Cable TV show on fashion with Paul Cimino in New Orleans), and when he was the Artistic Director for the Snobs Salon in New Orleans, they were the hairstylists for the 1987 spring release fashion show for Liz Clairborne. His hairstyles were featured on the covers of various magazines, including Touts and Gambit. He has held various jobs in not-so-ordinary lines of work, including working for an escort service (whose clients were older, wealthy women), a gambler, a drug user and dealer, and a singer in a rock band (very minor rock band … very minor singer … ). He was also elected student body president for Indiana University at South Bend, made porn movies, was a sports reporter for The South Bend Tribune, drove his T-Bird at speeds over 120 mph down icy city streets in a police chase (he outran the cops), been homeless, was married five times, and has been shot at more than once (and shot back) as well as being the victim of attempted stabbings. All of these things (and others) happened at different times in his life if you thought he was just having a busy week. All of which give his crime novels a verisimilitude other writers can't possess.

After gaining parole, Edgerton obtained a B.A. from Indiana University and an MFA in Writing from Vermont College. He has taught in a variety of places, including the UCLA Writer's Program, was writer-in-residence at the University of Toledo (3 years), same at Trine University, and has also taught for St. Francis University, Phoenix College, Writer's Digest Online Classes, the New York Writer's Workshop and he currently teaches a private class online.

Work of Edgerton's has been nominated for or has won the Pushcart Prize, O. Henry Award, Edgar Allan Poe Award (short story category), PEN/Faulkner Award, the Derringer Award, the Texas Institute of Letters Jesse Jones Book Award, Spinetingler Magazine Best Thriller (Legends category) and the Violet Crown Book Award (Special Citation).

Customer Reviews