The Ghosts in the Trees (Shadows, Trees & Odd Mysteries, #1)

The Ghosts in the Trees (Shadows, Trees & Odd Mysteries, #1)

by Malcolm Fernandes

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Following the gaze of his partner, Gundu stared at the ground and couldn't believe his eyes. With the big, bright moon low on the horizon and behind them, the towering Naynab cast long and menacing shadows across the ground — shapes that swayed to and fro in the fierce wind. Among the shadows of its dense trunk and foliage, Gundu could make out one, then two, then three figures with eyes staring at them...

When a DIABOLICAL village sage schemes to have the great old Naynab tree in the south-west corner of the village CHOPPED down for personal gain, a DEFIANT young boy must find a way to SAVE the tree... and maybe more! 

The GHOST IN THE TREES is a short story and the first book in the SHADOWS, TREES & ODD MYSTERIES series that follows the MYSTERIOUS myths, ODD occurrences and TERRIFYING tales that revolve around the little-known Naynab trees.

An Interview with the Author:

Q: So, what is the Shadows, Trees & Odd Mysteries (STOM) series about?

The STOM series chronicles the perilous journeys of our heroes in their quest to find the significance of the Naynab trees. Making shocking discoveries along the way, they come face-to-face with evil men, strange creatures, supernatural beings and a dangerous fight for survival — not only of their own but indeed — of the entire world itself!

Q: How should the books be read?

While each of the first three titles can be read as standalone books, the story-line in the STOM series is staggered into three narratives: One about a ten-year-old boy called Oddy and his Grandpa in the story the Ghosts in the Trees, and another about three friends — Alan, Maya and Phudy, and their adventures in title the Madness Tree. Both these stories take place in present time. The third story-line is different in that, it comprises of written accounts kept by a man — an explorer, called Rem Namdliv, who discovered strange facts and the significance of the Naynab trees in the late eighteenth century.

All three story-lines are however connected and upcoming titles will reveal their convergence. Inspired by nature and the incredible world we live in, the STOM series is a fantasy mystery series (the author calls it, earth-fiction), with dashes of folklore, action and bone-chilling horror, that explore the mysteries of the Naynab.

Q: Who are these books ideally for?

I call the STOM series 'Earth-Fiction' and like to think of the series as Indiana Jones meets Lord of the Rings, but written for younger readers (8 -9 onwards) and with the foundational idea exploring our relationship with our planet. The series has multiple timelines and characters and is for not just younger readers but anyone who likes family-friendly fantasy mixed with sizeable amounts of horror, mystery and adventure.

Q: How many books are there in the series?

There are 3 books in the series currently released, with more titles soon to come.

Q: What can we expect from upcoming books in the series?

The series is going to get a lot more exciting with multiple plot lines and characters that will evolve, as well as plenty of new twists and surprises in store for readers, so definitely look out for these upcoming releases. 

Product Details

BN ID: 2940156507573
Publisher: Malcolm Fernandes
Publication date: 04/05/2019
Series: Shadows, Trees & Odd Mysteries
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 93,533
File size: 4 MB
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews