The Ghosts of Rancho Espanto

The Ghosts of Rancho Espanto

by Adrianna Cuevas
The Ghosts of Rancho Espanto

The Ghosts of Rancho Espanto

by Adrianna Cuevas

Hardcover

$17.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

A new middle grade fantasy full of humor and heart from Adrianna Cuevasauthor of the Pura Belpré Honor Book The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez—perfect for fans of Claribel Ortega's The Ghost Squad and Louis Sachar's Holes.
'
Rafa would rather live in the world of The Forgotten Age, his favorite fantasy role-playing game, than face his father’s increasing restrictions and his mother’s fading presence. But when Rafa and his friends decide to take the game out into the real world and steal their school cafeteria's slushie machine, his dad concocts a punishment Rafa never could’ve imagined—a month working on a ranch in New Mexico, far away from his friends, their game, and his mom’s quesitos in Miami.

Life at Rancho Espanto isn’t as bad as Rafa initially expected, mostly due to Jennie, a new friend with similarly strong opinions about Cuban and Korean snacks, and Marcus, the veteran barn manager who's not as gruff as he appears. But when Rafa's work at the ranch is inexplicably sabotaged by a man (or a ghost) who may not be what he seems, Rafa and Jennie explore what's behind the strange events at Rancho Espanto—and discover that the greatest mystery may have been with Rafa all along.

2024 Edgar Allan Poe Award Winner
2025 Rhode Island Middle School Book Award List
Vermont Golden Dome Book Award List


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780374390433
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date: 04/04/2023
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 133,181
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: 810L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Adrianna Cuevas is the author of 2021 Pura Belpré Honor Book The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez (FSG BYR, 2020) and Cuba in My Pocket (FSG BYR, 2021). She is a first-generation Cuban American originally from Miami, Florida. After teaching Spanish and ESOL for sixteen years, she decided to pursue her passion for storytelling. Adrianna currently resides outside of Austin, TX with her husband and son where they enjoy hiking, traveling, and cooking lots of Cuban food.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews