The Girl and the Ghost

The Girl and the Ghost

by Hanna Alkaf

Hardcover

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 19

Overview

* Chosen as a 2020 Kirkus Prize Finalist for Young Readers' Literature! *

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable.

But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side—and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness.

Fans of Holly Black’s Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062940957
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 08/04/2020
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 76,906
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile: 840L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Hanna Alkaf is a writer from Malaysia, where the legend of the pelesit originated. She is the author of the young adult novel The Weight of Our Sky, and her work has appeared in Shape, Esquire, and Marie Claire, among others. The Girl and the Ghost is her first novel for middle grade readers. She lives in Kuala Lumpur with her family and can be visited at www.hannaalkaf.com.

Customer Reviews