The Irish Girl

The Irish Girl

by Santa Montefiore

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 24

Overview

The Irish Girl was previously published as The Girl in the Castle.

Ireland. The early twentieth century.

Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war.

Read their story — and see why JOJO MOYES says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." 

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland — the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love...

Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight — and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened.

A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Irish Girl is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland — perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062456854
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 07/24/2018
Series: Deverill Chronicles Series , #1
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 576
Sales rank: 64,334
Product dimensions: 0.00(w) x 0.00(h) x (d)

About the Author

Santa Montefiore was born in England. She went to Sherborne School for Girls in Dorset and studied Spanish and Italian at Exeter University. She has written sixteen bestselling novels, which have been translated into thirty different languages and have sold more than two million copies worldwide.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Girl in the Castle: A Novel 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I learned much about the origination of Ireland along with being encaptured by a very intriguing novel.
whatsbetterthanbooks More than 1 year ago
Insightful, riveting, and incredibly atmospheric! Songs of Love and War is an intriguing tale that sweeps you to Co. Cork in the early 1900s when Ireland is full of unrest and upheaval not only due to the Great War being waged on the fields of Europe but in their own countryside where the simmering anger and need for self-identity, patriotism, and independence from Anglo rule are about to come to a head. The prose is poetic and vividly described. The three main characters Kitty, Birdie, and Celia are strong and independent, and their lives are bound and entangled together by the magnificent Castle Deverill that graces the Irish hillside and in some way each calls home. And the plot is an engaging saga filled with self-discovery, familial drama, social stratification, spiritual occurrences, tragedy, heartbreak, romance, war, life, loss, and friendship. Songs of Love and War is an exquisitely written, exceptionally detailed, beautiful start to a trilogy that is sure to be a big hit with historical fiction fans and book clubs everywhere, and you can be sure that Daughters of Castle Deverill, Deverill Chronicles #2, is already on my TBR list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emma_Leah_Chitty_Walton More than 1 year ago
As an ancestral writer and researcher of my own Irish roots including those of my red hair; I am fascinated by the historical facts surrounding the fascinating characters of The Girl in the Castle. I now have a new Trilogy to enjoy on my book reader; however, was disappointed when I had to wait for the release of the next book. 'C'est la vie' (such-is-life); for good things come to those who wait. Oh, my French roots are deep in my heritage as well. I now have a new favorite author, Santa Montefiore.
Mirella More than 1 year ago
THE GIRL IN THE CASTLE has to be one of the best books I've read in a long time. It's the first book in a trilogy about two Irish families and the estate they inhabit. It's an intense family saga with a handful of fascinating characters who evolve and change as circumstances dictate. The book is not short on plot twists, and there is even a fabulous rags to riches thread that has left me hanging and waiting eagerly for the next book. The setting starts in Ireland in 1925 and moves forward at a steady pace. Lovely descriptions, incredible ever-developing characters, and an old beloved family castle lend an appeal that transcends each page and left me wanting more at the end. This the exact kind of book that I love. I am eagerly waiting for the next installment and I'm adding Santa Montefiore to my list of favorite authors! Loved, loved, loved this story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved every page snd character
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When is the 2nd book coming?