The Girl in the Picture

The Girl in the Picture

by Kerry Barrett
4.5 8

NOOK BookePub edition (eBook - ePub edition)

$0.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Girl in the Picture by Kerry Barrett

Two women. One house. Centuries of secrets.East Sussex Coast, 1855Violet Hargreaves is the lonely daughter of a widowed industrialist, and an aspiring Pre-Raphaelite painter. One day, the naïve eighteen-year-old meets the mysterious and handsome Edwin on the beach. He promises her a world beyond the small coastal village she’s trapped in. But after she ignores warnings about Edwin, a chain of terrible events begins to unfold for Violet…East Sussex Coast, 2016For thriller-writer Ella Daniels, the house on the cliff, where she’s moved with her young family, is the perfect place to overcome writer’s block. But there’s a strange atmosphere that settles once they move in – and Ella’s intrigued when she hears stories of brutal murders in the house next door more than 150 years ago. When Ella uncovers a portrait of a beautiful young girl named Violet Hargreaves, who went missing at the same time as the horrific crimes, she becomes determined to find out what happened. And in trying to lay Violet’s ghost to rest, Ella must face ghosts of her own…This haunting timeslip tale is perfect for fans of Kate Riordan, Tracy Rees, Kate Morton and Lucinda Riley.Praise for Kerry Barrett‘A fantastic and engaging read. Kerry Barrett truly is a very talented author. It’s absolutely perfect for summer holidays or wintry days snuggled on the sofa.’ – Bab’s Bookshelf‘This was a really enjoyable read. I highly recommend this book.’ – Fiona’s Book Reviews‘There aren't enough stars for this fun, deep and relaxing read. Highly recommended.’ – Michelle, Goodreads Reviewer

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008221577
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/20/2017
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 22,471
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Kerry Barrett was a bookworm from a very early age and did a degree in English Literature, then trained as a journalist, writing about everything from pub grub to EastEnders. Her first novel, Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered, took six years to finish and was mostly written in longhand on her commute to work, giving her a very good reason to buy beautiful notebooks. Kerry lives in London with her husband and two sons, and Noel Streatfeild’s Ballet Shoes is still her favourite novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Girl in the Picture 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
D-does-reviews More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book because of the dual time line, the intriguing unfolding mystery, and the many things that the main character and the girl in the picture have in common. The story started out a little slow at first but it quickly became a compelling mystery filled with greed, violence and manipulation that kept me guessing right through to the end of the book. In present time Ella Daniels has left her job and the hustle and bustle of London for a historic seaside home where she plans to become a full time writer. As she settles in and meets friends and neighbors she learns that the house she's renting has quite a notorious history, including a horrific murder and the unexplained disappearance of a teenage girl that happened more than 150 years ago. As Ella does research and gathers clues the story unfolds through they eyes of a very naive and talented young artist named Violet, and the married couple who live next door. Mystery lovers and fans of historical fiction will find this book a real treat. I read a complimentary copy of this book through NetGalley and all opinions expressed in my voluntary review are completely my own.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me interested. A quick, easy read with a plot that made me want to know what happens next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great combination of history and current day. Well written and kept me interested .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Intriguing story. Stayed up late to finish and worth every minute of lost sleep.
candy-b More than 1 year ago
Violet Hargreaves was a very good painter but she became involved with a very evil man. Edwin Forrester was a very selfish man. He would do anything to get what he wanted. Ella and Ben Daniels, with their two sons, had just moved in and in the attic they found the portrait of a lovely young girl. Who was she? This was one amazing story. From the first sentence I was engrossed in this, I read it in one sitting. The way they investigated and researched the people from their house, fascinating. The interaction of the characters, the descriptions of the surroundings, wonderful. It is a complex plot, with some surprises. The author has done a great job of making sense of all the threads to this. I loved how Violet and Frances became friends and tried to help each other. I think this book is very well written and leaves no questions at the end. Well worth the time to read. I received this ARC free and voluntarily reviewed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You guys should make a scary movie aboute this book cause i think it would be amazing<3