The Girl Who Lied: The bestselling psychological drama

The Girl Who Lied: The bestselling psychological drama

by Sue Fortin

NOOK BookePub edition (eBook - ePub edition)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Girl Who Lied: The bestselling psychological drama by Sue Fortin

'Sue Fortin writes with skill and pace, filling her pages with tension. With great characters and a gripping storyline, I was immediately pulled in and found myself desperate to turn the pages' – Amanda JenningsSometimes the perfect friend tells the perfect lies…Erin and Roisin were once friends until a fatal accident ruined both their lives. Now, Roisin has discovered a secret—one Erin has kept for over a decade—and she’s determined to make Erin pay for her lies.When Roisin suddenly disappears, suspicion soon lands on Erin. She would do anything to protect her family, but just how far is she willing to go when time is running out…?A must read for fans of CL Taylor and BA Paris.What people are saying about The Girl Who Lied:‘Slowly but inexorably draws you in until you can hardly wait to discover the fate of the characters…you'll love Sue Fortin’ – Sue Moorcroft‘A twisty romantic page-turner that will keep you guessing’ – Julie Cohen'Sue Fortin's gripping books always keep me turning the pages! Highly recommended for fans of grit-lit and suspense!' – Mandy Baggot‘The suspense, mystery and secrets to be revealed kept me turning the pages…nerve wracking and gripping’ – Rachel’s Random Reads‘Kept me intrigued right up until the end…a highly enjoyable read, filled with secrets’ – By the Letter Book Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008194840
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/19/2016
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 61,642
File size: 931 KB

About the Author

Sue Fortin was born in Hertfordshire but had a nomadic childhood, moving often with her family, before eventually settling in West Sussex. She is married with four children, all of whom patiently give her the time to write but, when not behind the keyboard, she likes to spend time with them, enjoying both the coast and the South Downs between which they are nestled. Sue is a member of the Crime Writers’ Association.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Girl Who Lied: The 2016 bestselling psychological drama 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very boring and predictable, with so many unrealistic scenes that I had to push myself to finish it. You keep thinking it is a thriller and the action will pick up in the next page but it never happens. The end is quite anticlimatic, like a Kumbaya moment that makes no sense. Not worth the time or money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would definitely recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I feel the author had good character development, I felt the story was predictible and at times the explanations for why a particular character acted in a strange manner was unrealistic. In addition, it often jumped from one person's perspective/thoughts to another's without warning. This is an irratation to the reader. She needed a better way to jump from telling the story in the 1st person voice to another's 1st person voice. Some author's use chapter breaks. This would have been more effective story had she done so. I really can't recomend this book. I do think this author has potential though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nothing in this novel made me question motivation, characters or plot. If ever made into a film, it will no doubt appear on the Hallmark Channel. Very disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
shanynn829 More than 1 year ago
It was good but not very good. There were quite a few errors in spelling, sometimes a word was just missing. The way the setting was described, it became evident that this writer didn't have a firsthand account of the area, she was just going by other people's descriptions. The story itself was a good idea but it wasn't fully believable. The story switches POV quite frequently which made it interesting but it got sloppy at points. Overall, it wasn't well written which took away from the story. I wouldn't go out of my way to recommend this to someone unless they were looking for a quick read to hold them over while waiting for a book they actually want, to be released.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a very nice book. I would definitely recommend it but it was predictable. That doesn't mean I didn't enjoy reading it. It was a nice story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was ok, but nothing surprising. At least the writing didn't annoy me like some books do these days. Yes, I've read a lot of books over the years and still trying to find someone to replace Maeve Binchy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice one & like
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not bad
Rag_Doll More than 1 year ago
Sue Fortin is a talented writer of suspense and certainly knows how and when to feed the reader with twist after compelling twist. This is the story of Erin, partly written in first person and told over a dual timeline. Sixteen year old Erin is in love, pregnant and being told what is best for her by adults. They all make sense but she doesn't want to hear it. Present day, ten years later, Erin is living in London working at a beauty salon when she receives a blast from the past phone call from her old school friend, Roisin, in Ireland. The call is disturbing and unsettling for Erin and within hours she receives another urgent call from her sister, Fiona, informing her that their father is in intensive care with a serious head injury. From here Erin is forced back to Ireland to be with her family and knows she will also have to face the dreaded Roisin who she knows she will bump into in the small village they live in. Sue Fortin writes beautifully and competently with unease and tense moments at each chapter ending. Her characters are realistic and visual with enough description to make them authentic without becoming mundane or boring. There is just the right amount of teasing romance to add to the suspense but without distracting from the gripping storyline. The text is rich and written with depth and meaning, and several times I thought I'd guessed what was coming, sometimes I did guess correctly but it didn't spoil the outcome at all because there was twist and revelation, one on top of another. I found the book totally compelling and couldn't put it down. I would thoroughly recommend if you like psychological suspense and I will certainly read more by Sue Fortin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started out really liking it and then it ended up like reading the same old thing again. It became repeatative for me and was just ready to get to the end of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sample was soooo good. I must have this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Havent reqd it yet but hop it so good so i gave it a five star rating