The Girls Won't Leave the Boys Alone

The Girls Won't Leave the Boys Alone

by Cherish the Ladies
4.5 2

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Girls Won't Leave the Boys Alone

The Celtic folk ensemble known as Cherish the Ladies is made up of a number of talented female musicians who play accordions, flutes, whistles, fiddles, and more. The members are Joanie Madden, Mary Coogan, Mary Rafferty, Heidi Talbot, Donna Long, and Marie Reilly. This award-winning group has done a lot of instrumental work, but these ladies can also sing in harmony together -- quite nicely, in fact. That said, there are still a few instrumental numbers on here to be had. When The Girls Won't Leave the Boys Alone was released in early 2001, Cherish the Ladies had been performing together for around a decade. This is the group's eighth album, and it carries a nice offering of Irish-American folk music that is sure to please Celtic fans. The tunes on this album move from gentle to an energetic pace, fitting any good step dance. A great addition to your keeper shelf.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/04/2009
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886974877929
catalogNumber: 748779

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cherish the Ladies   Primary Artist
Billy McComiskey   Accordion
Matt Molloy   Flute
Mick Moloney   Banjo
Arlo Guthrie   Vocals
Pete Seeger   Banjo
Brian Keane   Overdubs,Shaker
Luka Bloom   Vocals
Brian Kennedy   Vocals
Eric Weissberg   Banjo
Tom Chapin   Banjo,Vocals,Background Vocals
John McCutcheon   Vocals,Background Vocals,Hammered Dulcimer
Liam Clancy   Concertina,Vocals,Background Vocals
Tommy Makem   Vocals,Background Vocals
Brendan Mulvihill   Fiddle
Paddy Reilly   Vocals
Dave Anderson   Fretless Bass Guitar
Phil Bowler   Upright Bass
Bobby Clancy   Vocals,Background Vocals
Mary Coogan   Banjo,Guitar,Mandolin,Choir, Chorus
Kevin Glackin   Fiddle
John Jennings   Dancer
Donna Long   Synthesizer,Piano,Synthesizer Bass,Vocal Harmony
Joanie Madden   Flute,Alto Flute,Human Whistle,Choir, Chorus,Low Whistle,Vocal Harmony
Arty McGlynn   Guitar
Liam O'Flynn   uillean pipes
Liam Ó Maonlaí   Vocals,Bodhran,Vocal Percussion,Vocal Harmony
Mary Rafferty   Accordion,Concertina,Choir, Chorus,Low Whistle
Mike Rafferty   Flute
Davy Spillane   uillean pipes
Arto Tuncboyaciyan   Percussion,Cymbals,Tambourine,Triangle,Shaker,Wood Block,Doumbek,Bendir
Jesse Smith   Fiddle
John Madden   Bodhran
Liz Knowles   Fiddle
Marie Reilly   Fiddle
Yvonne Kane   Fiddle
Donal Clancy   Acoustic Guitar,Bouzouki
Martin Reilly   Human Whistle
Jim Coogan   Accordion
John Sheahan   Fiddle

Technical Credits

Cherish the Ladies   Arranger
Matt Molloy   Arranger
Brian Keane   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Glenn Barratt   Engineer
Larry Hamby   Producer,Art Direction
Joanie Madden   Producer
Brian Masterson   Engineer
Arty McGlynn   Producer
Liam O'Flynn   Arranger
Keith Chirgwin   Digital Post Engineer
Steve Gates   Producer,Art Direction
Rory Makem   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Girls Won't Leave the Boys Alone 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago