The Greenwash Effect: Corporate Deception, Celebrity Environmentalists, and What Big Business Isn¿t Telling You about Their Green Products and Brands

The Greenwash Effect: Corporate Deception, Celebrity Environmentalists, and What Big Business Isn¿t Telling You about Their Green Products and Brands

by Guy Pearse

Hardcover

$22.46 $24.95 Save 10% Current price is $22.46, Original price is $24.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

The Greenwash Effect: Corporate Deception, Celebrity Environmentalists, and What Big Business Isn¿t Telling You about Their Green Products and Brands by Guy Pearse

Going green is the new black for big business. But how real is the climate-friendly revolution that’s being advertised? Toyota would like us to think that Mother Nature drives a Prius, Ford wants us to “Join the Green Revolution,” and McDonald’s has painted its golden arches green. Facebook has even “friended” Greenpeace. All across the globe big corporations are spending big bucks trying to convince us that their policies, actions, and products are earth friendly. But are big brands and the celebrities endorsing them really as green as they claim?

In The Greenwash Effect , Guy Pearse looks behind the corporate façade in the tradition of Fast Food Nation and No Logo —and what he finds will startle you. Nothing is sacred and no one is safe from scrutiny: not the World Wildlife Fund or Earth Hour, not Apple or Google, not Oprah or Leonardo DiCaprio. The Greenwash Effect is an entertaining and practical book that helps consumers to pick the truly green businesses from the greenwashers and to demand a higher environmental standard from all.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781628737264
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Publication date: 08/05/2014
Pages: 280
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Guy Pearse is a former political adviser, lobbyist, and speechwriter. His work as an author and columnist focuses heavily on how politicians and corporations mislead the public about their response to major environmental concerns. His previous books include Big Coal: Australia’s Dirtiest Habit , Quarry Vision: Coal, Climate Change and the End of the Resources Boom , and High & Dry: John Howard, Climate Change and the Selling of Australia’s Future.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

Banks 5

Beer 15

Big Box Grocery and Retail 22

Cars 32

Celebrities 40

Coffee 50

Earth Hour 58

Electricity 70

Fashion 77

Fast Food 87

Flights 95

Freight 105

Home Appliances and Entertainment 113

Hotels 122

Cruising and Casinos 129

Media 138

Online Searching, Shopping, Socialising 147

Gasoline 160

Pets 169

Phones, Computers and Office Electronics 177

Professional Services 186

Real Estate 194

Sex 201

Soft Drinks 211

Sports 221

Sweet Treats 229

Conclusion 239

Epilogue 247

Your Pocket Guide to Green Washing 255

Acknowledgements 261

Index 263

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews