The Grimy Awards [CD/DVD]

The Grimy Awards [CD/DVD]

by Ill Bill

CD(Bonus DVD)

$14.22 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.22, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, August 23


With "When I Die" going out to his deceased grandmother and "Canarsie High" bringing the pathos like never before, The Grimy Awards could rightfully be seen as the softest album to date from underground rapper and Non-Phixion member Ill Bill. Of course, that's with the previous discography being so hardcore that it was almost horrorcore, but the right way to think of this effort is balanced, with Bill challenging himself -- and his audience -- with a proper stretching of the skill set. Key cut "Exploding Octopus" even brings science and education into the picture, and yet all these advancements are tempered with the familiar Bill combo of brutish and earnest at all costs, especially when both "In the land of the blind, the man with one eye is the king" and "Stare into the past and see the future lookin' back at you" get barked out over the soulful Pete Rock production called "Truth." Add names like DJ Premier, El-P, DJ Muggs, A-Trak, and H.R. from the Bad Brains as guests, and this one winds up the Ill Bill album to pick, winning the Grimy Award for Best Overall and bringing the rapper one step closer to Lifetime Achievement.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/26/2013
Label: Fat Beats
UPC: 0659123515924
catalogNumber: 5159
Rank: 46739

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ill Bill   Primary Artist
Scott Stallone   Moog Synthesizer,Arp Odyssey,Hammond B3

Technical Credits

DJ Premier   Producer,Cut
Large Professor   Producer
Pete Rock   Producer
DJ Eclipse   Cut
El-P   Producer
Psycho Les   Producer
Ayatollah   Producer
A-Trak   Cut
Ill Bill   Producer
Donna McLeer   Graphic Design
Uncle Howie   Executive Producer
Skam2   Artwork
Scott Stallone   Producer,Engineer
DJ Skizz   Producer
W. Braunstein   Composer
A. Quiles   Composer
V. Luviner   Composer
O. Credle   Composer
W.P. Mitchell   Composer
C-Lance   Producer
Eden Braunstein   Engineer
Junior Makhno   Producer
Rick Delisi   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews