The Hawk and His Boy (The Tormay Trilogy, #1)

The Hawk and His Boy (The Tormay Trilogy, #1)

by Christopher Bunn

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Hawk and His Boy (The Tormay Trilogy, #1) by Christopher Bunn

One night in the city of Hearne, a young thief named Jute is hired to break into a wizard's house and steal an old wooden box. It should've been an easy job. Unbeknownst to the boy, however, the box contains the knife that killed the Wind. Overcome with curiosity, Jute opens the box and sets off a chain of events that soon has him on the run from the wizard, his old masters in the Thieves Guild, and their client, who happens to be the Lord of Darkness himself. On his odyssey of escape, Jute is aided by an unlikely assortment of friends, including a guilt-ridden assassin, a reluctant wizard, and a hawk who just might be able to teach him how to fly. But the Darkness will do anything to find Jute, even if it means plunging the whole land into war. 

The Hawk And His Boy is the first book of The Tormay Trilogy. The trilogy continues with The Shadow At The Gate, and concludes with The Wicked Day.

For fans of Tolkien and Lewis, as well as the modern works of Jordan and Goodkind, The Tormay Trilogy will take you on an adventure through magic and legend, through the darkness and up to the stars themselves in their cold sky.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940152854916
Publisher: Christopher Bunn
Publication date: 02/24/2015
Series: Tormay Trilogy , #1
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 362,777
File size: 632 KB
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Christopher Bunn grew up on a farm in California. He fell in love with books at a young age, reading Tolkien and Lewis with a flashlight, late at night. After he grew up, he wandered the world, worked on 6 of the 7 continents and finally made it home. He lives on a farm in California again, and he's still reading. With that same flashlight. Same batteries too.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Hawk and His Boy 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
wendallyn More than 1 year ago
"The Hawk and His Boy" by Christopher Bunn is agreat book. I couldn't put this down- the story weaves back and forth between characters and towns in a long-ago kingdom. It was engrossing, between the wizard who creates something our of darkness and a young woman who is the reincarnation of what I would call "mother earth", and a special young boy that we have yet to discover just how and why he is so special. I am going now to download the rest of the series, I cannot wait to learn more of these characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lot of fun. Best read in a while. Reveiws say it's a childrens series but i disagree. Reminded me of chronicals of Narnia to some degree. Highly recomend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Being part of a 3 part seriies you know it is not going to end in this book but the author developed the plot and characters enough to make you want more. Like the fact that even tho Jute now has powers he still wants to be who he slways been a little boy thief and didn't transform overnight into a hero.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best fantasy stories out there. The entire trilogy must be read for the completeness of the story. The characters are engaging. The setting is believable, not fantastical. I found myself highlighting many sentences and paragraphs to chew on, so definitely mentally stimulating. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chrystalla More than 1 year ago
The Hawk and His Boy is the first book in the Tormay Trilogy, which I can only describe as fabulous, poetic epic fantasy with a Young Adult flavor - probably because Jute, the protagonist, is a young boy, and another main character, Levoreth, is a young girl. The title drew me in as soon as I laid eyes on it, it held so much promise. A boy belonging to a hawk and not the other way round sounded intriguing. The book did not disappoint. First of all, let me say that the blurb is a little misleading. The book is not so much about Jute as it is about events that bring a change in the world of Tormay, and Jute is only one of the players – obviously he will prove a significant one, perhaps in the next book or so, but in this first book we see little of him. He is a little passive as a character, thrown into circumstances he cannot very well control, although toward the end of the book he has some odd dreams that seem to lead to bigger events yet to come. He’s clever and likable and I look forward to reading more about him in the next book. Another very important character, whose chapters are even longer than Jute’s, is Levoreth. Levoreth is a very enigmatic character and also very funny. I loved her interactions with everyone, especially with her aunt and uncle, and looked forward to every chapter featuring her. She’s also a very powerful person as we discover in the course of the book, with a great twist I can’t reveal. She is my favorite character. Two more characters have their own chapters, both of them antagonists. This, of course, is a relative term, as the author takes care not to paint any character in simple black and white. The Knife is an intriguing character, violent and brooding, a grown-up man working as an assassin, but as his story unfolds, we see different sides to him. I thought his character was very well crafted. The last character is Nio, the mage, is another intriguing person, also a grown up, whose knowledge of the magic of the world makes his chapters very interesting. About world building and in particular magic. I enjoyed very much the solid magical system created by the author, the sense of long history and magic lost, the four elements and the chamber of the mosaics connected to words of power. It all had a ring of truth about it which I found enthralling. The language is the third element I will touch upon. I love epic fantasy written in beautiful prose, and if you like it too, then this book might be for you. Especially Levoreth’s chapters, but the rest as well, are written so beautifully, in sparse and yet poetic prose that reminded me of Patricia Anne McKillip’s works. However, as the book is entitled The Hawk and His Boy, one might expect to see these two more that we do see them. As it is, I felt that the title was not entirely justified. I would have loved to see more of Jute and the Hawk and find out more about them both. Lastly, no thread is tied at the end of the book. The story simply stops and resumes, one imagines, in the sequel. As this is the first book in a trilogy, one does not expect the story to end here, but one does expect some sort of minor resolution, which never happens. Apart from these two minor quibbles, I very much enjoyed reading The Hawk and His Boy and finished it within three days, grabbing time to read whenever I could spare it. I highly recommend it to fans of the epic fantasy kind and I cannot wait to read the sequel. (4.5 stars for Good Book Alert Reviews)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
This is a 3 book series. I was given all 3 books to review at one time. I decided to review each as I read them 1 at a time. The first book the Hawk and the Boy starts off strong and drew me into their world, but the story did not end. You have to read the next book and if I would have had to wait I would not be happy. But since the next is just waiting for me to read I give the story 4 STARS. I hate to wait to find out what happens next. Their is no smaller plot that finshed even in the first book. I would have rather had a big book than 3 seperate books. Jute is a theif and works for the Juggler who works for the councel of theirs. Juggler is in charge of the children pickpockets,theifs. Jute is his best climber. Jute climbs up to roof than goes down through the chimney and finds a box with a Hawk on it, but he must not open the box. If he opens the box then Knife who is waiting on the roof will kill him. Jute does like he is told and finds the box and he opens it and the knife inside cuts him. As jute climbs back up the chimney to Knife he hands over the box and says of course he did not open the box. Knife than pricks him with a poison needle and he falls back into the chimney. The house belonged to the wizard Nio who has spent 40 years to learn and find the box and knowledge about the four still points- anbeprun. He has tried lots of ways and cant open the box. The four points are water,earth,fire and wind are standing against the darkness. they are travelers with power that roam the land. They have animals the only one known is earth as horse. Jute survives the poison and the fall. A voice in his head tells him to trust no one and don't let them know he opened the box. Nio has Jute treated than questions him and he tells all the secrets except that he opened the box. the wizard creates a creature out of water and darkness that he uses as a weapon. Jute falls into the sewer river that runs out of the old building. Survives and learns the voice he hears is a hawk. Severan rescues Jute and hides him in the old ruins. He discovered the wizards creature and tells Jute what Nio was looking for. The water creature kills and tracks down about the box. Nio discovers that the boy must have opened the box to have survied the poison. Their is a creature and someone who is killing whole households at a time no one left alive except a girl who is cant speak. Their are a lot of characters and I suspect some are the different powers but need to read more. Have lot of unanswered questions.