The History of England in Three Volumes, Vol.I., Part E.: From Charles I. to Cromwell

The History of England in Three Volumes, Vol.I., Part E.: From Charles I. to Cromwell

by David Hume

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


David Hume (7 May 1711– 25 August 1776) was a Scottish philosopher, historian, economist, and essayist, known especially for his philosophical empiricism and skepticism. He is regarded as one of the most important figures in the history of Western philosophy and the Scottish Enlightenment. Hume is often grouped with John Locke, George Berkeley, and a handful of others as a British Empiricist.

Beginning with his A Treatise of Human Nature (1739), Hume strove to create a total naturalistic "science of man" that examined the psychological basis of human nature. In stark opposition to the rationalists who preceded him, most notably Descartes, he concluded that desire rather than reason governed human behaviour, saying: "Reason is, and ought only to be the slave of the passions." A prominent figure in the skeptical philosophical tradition and a strong empiricist, he argued against the existence of innate ideas, concluding instead that humans have knowledge only of things they directly experience. Thus he divides perceptions between strong and lively "impressions" or direct sensations and fainter "ideas," which are copied from impressions. He developed the position that mental behaviour is governed by "custom"; our use of induction, for example, is justified only by our idea of the "constant conjunction" of causes and effects. Hume held notoriously ambiguous views of Christianity, but he famously challenged the argument from design in his Dialogues Concerning Natural Religion (1779).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781518380259
Publisher: Krill Press
Publication date: 01/26/2016
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 728
File size: 1 MB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The History of England in Three Volumes, Vol.I., Part E. From Charles I. to Cromwell 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago