The Horror on the Links: The Complete Tales of Jules de Grandin, Volume One

The Horror on the Links: The Complete Tales of Jules de Grandin, Volume One

by Seabury Quinn

Hardcover

$31.49 $34.99 Save 10% Current price is $31.49, Original price is $34.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781597808934
Publisher: Night Shade
Publication date: 04/04/2017
Series: Complete Tales of Jules de Grandin Series , #1
Pages: 512
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.70(d)

About the Author

Seabury Quinn was a pulp magazine author, whose popular stories of the occult detective Jules de Grandin were published in Weird Tales between 1925 and 1951. Quinn penned ninety-two short stories and one full-length novel featuring “the occult Hercule Poirot,” which were enormously popular with readers. Quinn died in 1969.

Table of Contents

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Introduction—George A. Vanderburgh and Robert E. Weinberg

1925

The Horror on the Links (Weird Tales, October 1925)

The Tenants of Broussac (Weird Tales, December 1925)

1926

The Isle of Missing Ships (Weird Tales, February 1926)

The Vengeance of India (Weird Tales, April 1926)

The Dead Hand (Weird Tales, May 1926)

The House of Horror (Weird Tales, July 1926)

Ancient Fires (Weird Tales, September 1926)

The Great God Pan (Weird Tales, October 1926)

The Grinning Mummy (Weird Tales, December 1926)

1927

The Man Who Cast No Shadow (Weird Tales, February 1927)

The Blood-Flower (Weird Tales, March 1927)

The Veiled Prophetess (Weird Tales, May 1927)

The Curse of Everard Maundy (Weird Tales, July 1927)

Creeping Shadows (Weird Tales, August 1927)

The White Lady of the Orphanage (Weird Tales, September 1927)

The Poltergeist (Weird Tales, October 1927)

1928

The Gods of East and West (Weird Tales, January 1928)

Mephistopheles and Company, Ltd. (Weird Tales, February 1928)

The Jewel of Seven Stones (Weird Tales, April 1928)

The Serpent Woman (Weird Tales, June 1928)

Body and Soul (Weird Tales, September 1928)

Restless Souls (Weird Tales, October 1928)

The Chapel of Mystic Horror (Weird Tales, December 1928)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Horror on the Links: The Complete Tales of Jules De Grandin, Volume One 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
DarkRavenDH More than 1 year ago
Doctor of the occult, the bizarre, and the outré… This beautiful book contains 22 stories of Dr. Jules de Grandin, published in Weird Tales Magazine from 1925-1928. It is volume one in a series that promises to reprint all of the tales Seabury Quinn wrote featuring the little blonde Frenchman with his vast knowledge and experience with the unknown. Jules de Grandin resides for the most part with his friend and biographer Dr. Samuel Trowbridge in Harrisonville, New Jersey. Dr. Trowbridge and Grandin travel widely, and some of their adventures occur in other countries. Across these 22 stories our heroic duo battles demons, ghosts, vampires, and such creatures. There is almost always a lovely woman who is in danger of losing both body and soul. Jules de Grandin, much like Sherlock Holmes has supreme faith in his own abilities and knowledge. He comes across as pompous and self-promoting. He has little use for those who cannot see what he sees. He is often short with Dr. Trowbridge to the point of insult, as Holmes was with Dr. Watson. In the end, he will always return to his friendship with Trowbridge and give an explanation of his thought process and how he succeeded in saving the day. In these first 22 stories, I give Best in Book to “The Gods of East and West.” The story I liked the least was “The Dead Hand.” Fans of Holmes, Carnacki the Ghost Finder, John the Balladeer, John Thunstone, etc should be able to enjoy these tales with much delight! I give the volume stars plus! Quoth the Raven…